Simple Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I've never been able to make macaroni salad. I did add peas and ths our cream. It is the best I've ever made. Husband said it was 10/10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Simple yes, it was ok but nothing great. Probably wouldnt make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Used fusili pasta, a splash or two of white wine vinegar and everything else was the same, yummy! And how could anybody complain about vinegar when it wasn't in the original recipe???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
too much vinegar. next time i would use only a tablespoon of vinegar and would substitute wine vinegar, if i used any at all. the vinegar does not add to the flavor but will keep it from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used half of a bell pepper and half of a red pepper, also a small jar of pimento and sliced up a cucumber in it. I made my sauce with more mayo, added sour cream and the vegetable packet, a little mustard and definitely needs a little sweetness so a little bit of sugar and of course plenty of salt and pepper. The brand of vegetable mix I used was McCormick, has real nice flavor and the veggies are tiny so you don't notice them in there. Very nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I used Kohl's veggie soup mix and although I crushed it as much as possible, I found the dehydrated veggies were too hard even when making this dish a day in advance. I did substitute red onion for green onion and added two table spoons of sour cream in place of some of the mayo the day before. The next morning, much of the "sauce" had been absorbed so I added another cup of may and 1 cup of sour cream as well as freshly chopped dill. That really did change the flavors and in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
For the people that had trouble with the vegetable soup mix making it crunchy. Break up the clumps that are in the soup mix. Then add the soup mix to the mayo and the oil. If you mix this up good before mixing it with the other stuff it won't be crunchy. The changes I have made to this recipe are: I added a cup of ranch salad dressing and used a only half cup of mayo. I also added a table spoon of white vinegar, plus sliced black olives and sliced grape tomatoes. I used just one red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Good quick recipe. I add some cumin, a can of shoepeg corn and a can of Goya black beans to this for more of a southwestern mac. salad. If you like spicy... add some Cayenne pepper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
It was ok not as good as I expected. There was too much red pepper, and it just watered everything down. I like a creamier macaroni salad, I will try again next time using less pepper, and maybe a bit more salt and pepper, it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
My family loved this. Me & my husband do not like store bought Macaroni Salad but daughter wanted me to find a good recipe. We tried this and loved it. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States