Simple Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
I cook a lot. I've worked in professional kitchens in NYC. I am amazed and I mean amazed, at how good and how easy this recipe is. Usually, I'm all about fresh ingredients, but I have to say that the soup mix really makes the flavor come alive. I did make substitutions: I didn't have any packets of vegetable soup mix, only jars of mushroom soup mix and onion soup mix. I used a little of both until the flavor was at a nice level. Also I added sliced black olives I can't recommend it enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This recipie is a GREAT start. I find that if you add about 1-2 tbs of vinegar - and dash of sugar (to taste)- viola! EVERYONE that tries it asks me for the recipie. It's a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Very good! Even my dh says so! So it's a keeper! I too added 1/2 C sour cream with the mayo, a little milk, and also added in chopped red onion, pepper and olives. I also sifted the dry soup mix, then crushed the dried vegies then added them back in, for the flavor. Turned out GREAT! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I'd been looking for a recipe like this, and I have to say this is the best macaroni salad ever! The macaroni salad has so many different flavors in it that it's simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This recipe was quick and easy to make, but like some of the other reviwers, I thought it was a little on the dry side, and could use some more flavor. I'll probably make this again but next time I will definitely use more mayo, and perhaps put in two packets of soup, instead of one. For the record, I used Barilla's "tubini" pasta, which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
If you add the extra sour cream (about 1/2 cup) like others mentioned, this is great. I also added peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I tried this recipe for thanksgiving when I was asked to bring a salad over to family and I must say it is awesome! Everyone loved it. I added all different color peepers and added a little bit more of the vegetable dry soup mix as well as 1/2 pack of Onion soup mix and 2 spoons of sour cream. It was great! I will be making this salad again and again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
My Dad loves this dish! It is so easy to make and is almost full proof! I leave out the green onions and could probably leave out one of the red peppers. (But it is good with two to me!) Makes a ton and keeps very well! Best cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is the first macaroni salad I have ever made and it came out great. It was cheap and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was pretty good, but made the following changes: I used elbow macaroni, 1 green pepper (would have loved to use red, just didn't have one), and used mayo AND sour cream (cup total). I used the Knorrs vegetable soup mix, which gave it nice flavor & color. I also added frozen peas. Next time, I will add little shrimp. Will take to a summer party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States