Simple Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I do like this salad very much, but I used only 12 oz. of macaroni, added a big spoon full of sour cream and followed the recipe exactly otherwise. I found the salad to be very dry. I added an additional 1/4 cup of mayo thinned with about a 1/2 cup of milk and that was okay. I think next time I will also add a little vinegar. The flavor is very good, but needs a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is really good. I did not change a thing, but I got to thinking next time on the side cut cherry tomatoes in half, have some grated parmesan cheese, black olives, green olives,maybe some feta and goat cheese and some extra may with a little garlic in it and also some sourcream. Everyone can add or not add what they want to jazz it up. Thanks great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This recipe was one of the easiest and tastiest macaroni salad I've ever made. The next day everyone was looking for the leftovers ... and it does taste even better the next day. So the next time I make it, I'll make it a day earlier. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I did not like the vegetable soup mix in this. Even after refrigerating for hours it was still crunchy (in a bad way). I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I thought this was the best macaroni salad I ever made. My husband liked it, and he usually detests macaroni salad. I took this to a family Christmas party, and my sister-in-law, who's a great cook, asked for the recipe. I followed the recipe as listed here with a couple of minor adjustments: Per other reviewers' comments, I added 1/2 c. sour cream and a dash of white wine vinegar with the mayo; I think the vinegar really adds some much-needed acidity. The veggie soup mix really gives this a lot of flavor, and I like that it contains a lot of vegetables, not just pasta. I'll make this one again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This recipe was not to our liking. I am a very good cook and made this exactly how the recipe said. It was to much of everything. Nobody liked it. I will stick with the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quinnellope1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was super easy and the vegetable soup mix gave it a great flavor. I got lots of compliments about it at my neighborhood BBQ. The only alteration I made was that the soup mix I bought had whole dried vegetables mixed in with the powder so I had to sift them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very nice pasta salad. I had never tried dried vegetable soup mix in a dish but it was great. You do want the salad to sit in the fridge a few hours before serving so you aren't biting into dried vegetables from the soup mix - and to let it mellow. I'm not a huge pepper fan but the flavors work so well in this dish. Since it is a little bland (which many people love), my only change was to add a significant amount of dried dill - it really brings out all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Pretty good! Followed the recipe closely, except for not adding any celery(not a fan), and the store ran out of green pepper so I had two red and one yellow. Also I sifted the veggie soup mix, and then blended the dried vegetables in my magic bullet until they were very fine and added them in with the mayo. When I tasted it, it was extremely salty...so next time I will not puree the vegetables, and just leave them out. I compensated for the saltyness with sugar, and quite a bit of it...probably 1/8 cup if I had to guess. Anyway this completely fixed my problem and after a few hours in the fridge it tasted DELICIOUS! So thanks for the recipe! Will make again for sure, the DH loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Super delicious! I used ranch dressing mix since I didn't have any soup mix on hand. Like other users added sour cream, I added nonfat yogurt for extra tang. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States