Simple Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
With a few spice additions this recipe shaped up very well. I added (all to taste) garlic powder, dry mustard, cayenne pepper and tripled the cheddar cheese.I also used evaporated milk instead of the regular kind. Mmmm! great basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I did not care for this. Too bland for my taste. I tripled the cheese, and added mustard, seasoned salt, and pepper to the soup mixture, and still not much taste. I tasted no cheese at all in this recipe. My 5 year old loved it, though, and my fiance said it wasn't bad,so I might make this again if I'm short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I made this for dinner when my son hd a loose tooth and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This is a very good and VERY easy recipe. I have always admired other people's versions but I couldn't cook it myself. Now I think I have the best recipe that I have ever tasted. It is so easy that we allow our daughters who are 9 and 11 to go into the kitchen and cook this for us. The only additions we make to this recipe is that we add extra seasoning to the sauce and waaaay more cheese. GREAT RECIPE and THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
My family absolutely loved this recipe. I added 3 times the cheese as someone else had suggested and also added garlic powder to it, it turned out wonderful. In fact, I am making it again tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Changes made and this is a good recipe. I like it because it is easy and I have too under the age of 3 (they loved it). I did make the changes as suggested ~ more cheese, evap. milk and some spices. I also made a bread crumb and margarine crust which was the best part. I would also cook longer next time or perhaps a little higher, like 350 or 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Although I'm not a mac and cheese lover, I have to admit, this was good and a hit with the family. I did make some additions: Add 2 cloves garlic, 1/4 teaspoon of dry mustard, 10 drops of Tabasco and tripled the cheddar cheese. Topped with Italian bread crumbs. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I thought this receipe was great, but it did need a few additions. To give it more flavor I lightly sauted 1/2 cup of onions with 2 cloves of minced garlic, and also double the cheese. Topped it off with the breadcrumb topping, dash of pepper and it was good to go. Everyone loved it! Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwgonzalez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Awesome! I only had mozzerella - and I added a few slices of processed cheese cut up and it was fabulous. My company loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This recipe is very good with a few adjustments. On the advice of previous reviewers, I use 3/4 c evaporated milk and the rest skim milk. Also, I use around 2 cups of cheddar cheese - 1/2 cup is just not NEAR enough for my cheese tooth! :) With those adjustments, this is a super easy and delicious mac 'n cheese recipe. My toddler loves it and so do I. I make it a few times a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States