Simple Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Great recipe, and I was suspicious.. I thought it seemed just too easy. I added a splash of tobasco sauce, some extra garlic, and a little onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We also had kale from our CSA and didn't want it to go to waste. This is a GREAT recipe and the first time we've had kale, what a wonderful soup. Per the other comments I added onions, garlic (before boiling the broth) and tabasco. So easy! Make sure not to add any salt, the broth and turkey ham add a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapolis Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This gets points for ease and high nutrition. Use the prewashed, precut kale in a bag for added ease. I used regular ham. Even some of the kids ate this. The flavor is simple, but perfect. Sometimes there just is no need for complicated flavor when the natural flavors are so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I like this light soup. I use spinach instead when I don't have the kale. I also saute onion and garlic in a little butter, and then add the broth. This is something to do with leftover ham, if you don't want a heavy,creamy soup. I serve it with warm cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Just wonderful. I did make some changes. I sauteed a coarsely chopped onion, 6 cloves of garlic and a big carrot, thinly sliced, in a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. Then stirred in the sliced kale. I couldn't find turkey ham, so I bought a pound of turkey kielbasa, sliced that up and added it to the pot. Finally, added the potatoes (I used Yukon Gold, peeled and chopped, then added sodium-free chicken broth. We try to keep the salt down, so I used a liberal sprinkling of Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute. The result was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Made the following changes based on previous reviews and things I could find. Sauteed carrot, onion and garlic in olive oil before adding broth, pre-washed, pre-cut collard greens instead of kale, portuguese linguica sausage in place of ham and potatoes. Brought to a boil and then simmered for about an hour. Absolutely delicious, hearty, healthy winter soup. Will make again and again. Next time want to try chorizo when I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was delicious. Had kale from farm CSA but didn't know how to use it. So glad I found this recipe. Per the other comments, cooked garlic before adding the chicken broth and used regular ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup! So simple to throw together, and just a few ingredients. But the resulting flavor is so wonderful. My whole family enjoyed it and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very good. Had never cooked or eaten Kale so this was a great starter into the world of good kale eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wow! This was my first experience cooking kale, and this was very simple and tasty. I used smoked sausage instead of turkey ham because I had it on hand. Also used more garlic and a touch of Worcestershire (because I love it). No other spices needed! I only had 6 cups of chicken broth and used 2 cups of water but it was still very flavorful. This would be great with an onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States