Simple Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Made the following changes based on previous reviews and things I could find. Sauteed carrot, onion and garlic in olive oil before adding broth, pre-washed, pre-cut collard greens instead of kale, portuguese linguica sausage in place of ham and potatoes. Brought to a boil and then simmered for about an hour. Absolutely delicious, hearty, healthy winter soup. Will make again and again. Next time want to try chorizo when I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
this is simple and so good. so good for you. will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great as a base recipe too, I also used spicy sausage & carrots. I will use it with leftover ham the next time I have some too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Austin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Easy, but very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Not bad but not great. The flavors don't blend much, this is essentially broth with several different individual components floating in it. I added sauteed onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Just wonderful. I did make some changes. I sauteed a coarsely chopped onion, 6 cloves of garlic and a big carrot, thinly sliced, in a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. Then stirred in the sliced kale. I couldn't find turkey ham, so I bought a pound of turkey kielbasa, sliced that up and added it to the pot. Finally, added the potatoes (I used Yukon Gold, peeled and chopped, then added sodium-free chicken broth. We try to keep the salt down, so I used a liberal sprinkling of Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute. The result was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Simple yet nutritious way to incorporate kale into your diet. I've substituted turkey bacon and have prepared it without meat and it still turned out wonderfully. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good and easy to prepare. My wife who is not as picky an eater as myself said that you can't leave out the ham. Served with a multi-grain baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very good and easy too! Made a few adjustments, saute'd garlic and 1 whole onion before adding to soup. Also used country ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup! So simple to throw together, and just a few ingredients. But the resulting flavor is so wonderful. My whole family enjoyed it and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States