Simple Hamburger Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This has a good base to work with, how ever I cut the cream cheese, sour cream and soup in half, I added garlic and onion to the meat and salt and pepper to taste. It turned out great, the cream cheese add a good flavor. My 6yr old loved it, and it was quick and easy. Will use in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This recipe was very good and simple to make. It does make quite alot, especially for just me and my husband. But, it turned out to be a good thing, as hubbie ate 90 % of it! He said it was good as a Stroganoff and S.O.S, this from a man who thinks biscuits and gravy are gourmet :) I did halve the amount of cream cheese after other reviewers comments, and they are right. Overall most recipes here do not impress me, but this one was a hit and there was enough leftovers so I dont have to cook when it is 111 degrees here(Phoenix). Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
The whole family loved this! I cut the cream chease to 4 oz but used the full amount called for of sour cream. I also only used 1 can of condensed mushroom soup and mushroom gravy instead of brown gravy! It was good as left overs! Very quick and simple to make! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
To "liven" this recipe up a bit,I added garlic powder and some chopped onion to the hamburger mixture along with 3/4 cup of red wine. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Underwhelming. Although using canned mushrooms and condensed soup save time, the flavor definitely suffers as a result -- there are too many artifical flavors, and not enough fresh ones. And the creamy base is too heavy, and not savory like Stroganoff should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This dish was everything the other reviewers said...rich and creamy, simple to make, my picky hubby and 5 yr. old DEVOURED it and still had leftovers! I omitted the canned mushrooms, added a little garlic powder and it turned out delicious. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
WOW!!!! rich and filling. has to be the simplest meal ever! I omited the noodles and poured it over white rice. Great the next day also. It's a heart stopper but anything in moderation right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
I must admit, this was the best stroganoff I've ever made... I used tip sirloin (in bite-size pieces) browned in garlic and olive oil instead of the hamburger, and it worked great! This is by far the most "decadent" stroganoff I've tasted, very rich! My husband absolutely raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
My husband absolutely loves this! It's just the 2 of us so I cut the recipe in half and that still leaves him with a few leftovers for lunch. I also use reduced fat cream cheese and sour cream. It still tastes delicious and is so flavorful and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I also cut the amount of cream cheese and sour cream in half, I omitted the mushrooms, used only half the gravy mix, and added a little more milk to thin out the sauce and it was still delicious and made a lot. Very creamy and rich - my roommates liked it so much they ate it the next day without noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States