Simple Hamburger Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'm giving it five stars based on these adjustments: I sauteed the ground beef with a small chopped onion and about three cloves of minced garlic. I used fresh mushrooms, only 4 oz cream cheese and only one can of soup (i used cream of celery). Also, I didn't have any brown gravy mix and dissolved two beef bullion cubes in the beef as it cooked. This flavor combination was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena Spencer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I used whole grain pasta, fresh mushrooms, low fat sour cream & cream cheese and low salt cream of mushroom. After reading other reviewers comments, I cut all of those in half (1 can of soup, 4 oz. cream cheese, etc.) and it made more than enough sauce. I didn't have gravy mix so I used 2 beef boullion cubes mixed in with the milk. Needed something quick that had the ingredients I had to use my mushrooms that were heading south and this did the trick. Easy and tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
My husband & I absolutely LOVED this recipe, I think next time I may try to make the sauce a little thinner & maybe add some peas for color - but MAN!! It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was delicious! My whole family loved it! I did as many reviewers, halved the sour cream and cream cheese and used only one can of cream of mushroom soup. Also sauteed garlic w/ the beef and added minced onion too. served over brown rice! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is SOS at it's finest !! Coming from a military family...SOS was a mainstay on our table when I was growing up...and have continued this tradition with my own family - tho..never before had I added cream cheese nor packaged dry brown gravy mix...both were a nice addition - plus...I don't separate the ingredients...everything except what I'm putting it over (noodles or rice or toast..etc) is done in one pan with the sour cream added only within the last ten minutes of final simmer - and I used fresh mushrooms...so did add more milk to reach the consistency I wanted. Simply Yumbo !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I made it for other people. One wouldn't eat it because he thought it looked too weird. The other thought it was way too creamy. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashly Traxler-Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Was a great recipe. My wife doesn't usually eat 2 day leftovers, but she was with this. It tasted very rich and creamy, like it needed more meat and less dairy products, but apart from that was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarrettdaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
The family liked it. I omitted the cream cheese and canned mushrooms and added cottage cheese. Pretty good stuff! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Good easy recipe. I made it just as written and I didn't think it was too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Easy cheap recipe! Very good, but it had too much sauce for me so instead of 1lb of ground beef I added 2 pounds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States