Simple Hamburger Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Really good for a fast, easy dinner. My 5 year old, who won't eat anything, loves it (of coarse, I didn't tell him what's in it, he thinks it's just noodles and milk and hamburger)! We did add some ground black pepper. I didn't have sour cream, and didn't want to run to the store, but it was still great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious and Easy!!! This is close to the recipe that I grew up with. Though I did modify it a bit. I added onion and fresh garlic when I browned the hamburger. Additionally, I used fresh Baby Bella Mushrooms (8 oz.) instead of canned mushrooms. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will add fresh Parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was very good. It had a rich and creamy sauce. I used a dry onion soup mix instead of the brown gravy. The whole family enjoyed this. We will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racharn711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was great! Used the 2 cans of soup, sour cream, and milk but only 1/2 of the cream cheese. Use beef base and some extra seasonings with the juice of the mushrooms. Did sauté with pinions as I was browning the beef. Served with buttered bread and a salad and it was a very hearty meal. Will make this again and again I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I didn't make any changes. My hubby & I loved it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a house favourite! I've probably made it 20 times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was very good and creamy. I also added some chopped onion, black pepper and garlic. It was quick and easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
6/6/14 Made at tweaked version of this recipe and it was great. I have tried many BS recipes and this one rates up at the top. I had to keep playing with spices at first because just seemed to be "just missing something". Think I finally got it right. This was the first time I ever used cream cheese in my BS. To start I used a little more than 1 1/2 pounds ground beef. Added a lot more whole milk, (stopped keeping track after 2 cups), Worcester, cooked carrots I had in fridge, garlic, lawrys, bistro gravy powder about 1 1/2 T or more?, 1 package fresh mushrooms, and topped with fresh parsley. Was yummy! Even with all the extra milk still nice, rich, creamy, and thick. Everyone enjoyed. They all cleaned their plate and most went back for seconds. Even after seconds, still had a lot of leftovers, will have enough for another meal and then some. Definitely will make again. 5 stars *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very tasty, filling, rich. I sautéed one white onion, a tablespoon of jarred chopped garlic, 1 teaspoon each: salt, fresh ground pepper, onion powder; 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce along with the ground beef for extra depth of flavor and would recommend that you try it too. I suspect it might have been somewhat bland without the extra seasonings. I used a container of fresh sliced white button mushrooms instead of canned, since I had fresh ones on hand. I'll definitely try making this again in the future, but will try to lighten up the sauce a bit. Perhaps will try using light sour cream, low fat milk, reduced fat mushroom soup, and light cream cheese. We loved the flavor & comforting aspect of this hearty, easy meal. Quick to assemble & cook it, and light years better quality than similar hamburger type boxed dinners. Served it over egg noodles, with green salads, fresh corn, warm French bread alongside. I'd like to try it over brown rice next time instead. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
For my first time making this, I followed the recipe exactly. My entire family loved it! And I was surprised to find it just as easy as it was stated. For someone who isn't a chef and has very little time to cook dinner, this was a hit. Next time I'll try one of the variations with onion and garlic. I think that would be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States