Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this without pine nuts as I didn't have those on hand, and it turned out pretty great anyway! I did have to add a bit of salt though. Froze in an ice cube tray then put the cubes in a freezer bag. Cut a cube in half and placed each half on a couple chicken breasts I baked tonite, letting them bake with the chicken. Soo delicious!! Super easy to make and I love that I can have pesto anytime I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by focaccia9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The brazilian nuts and chili powder have me scratching my head. I used red pepper flake for the heat instead, and toasted the pine nuts over medium-low heat until they started to brown and they gave off a nutty aroma. Be sure to use a high quality olive oil (I use Axienda Olearia del Chianti) and real Parmigiano Reggiano (I used Montanari & Gruzza). If I could get raw Brazilian nuts, I'd be willing to try it, but they just aren't in high demand in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Simple but great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
yummay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I think I'll cut back on the oil a tad next time - perhaps I just didn't blend it long enough. I also omitted the chili powder since I was looking for a really basic basil recipe. I think next time I will try adding nutmeg. My parents were really impressed with this recipe! I tossed some elbow macaroni noodles in the pesto, added some quartered cherry tomatoes and feta (my favorite pasta dish) and froze the rest for later. Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: will definitely cut back on the oil, as the pesto did not freeze all the way when i put it in the ice cube trays as one reviewer recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made several batches of this pesto at the end of summer..I had 3 large, very vigorous basil plants and wanted to use them up. This is a tasty pesto, but too hot with the chile powder, so I omitted it and it was perfect. I also used walnuts instead of pine nuts and Brazil nuts. I froze most of it and it has kept well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very Delicious Pesto sauce! does use a lot of basil so expensive if you don't grow your own but a great way to use extra if you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I went with no brazil nuts, 3 large garlic cloves, 3/4 cups parmesan. Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was a great recipe, but I had to halve it because 3 cups of basil is A LOT! It did turn out great, added a little salt and a little extra cheese. Also, followed the advice of someone else and froze the pesto in ice cube tray for easier thawing and serving. Great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I used sunflower seeds for lack of Brazil nuts...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States