Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Easy, yummy pesto recipe. Will definitely make again! Toasted the pine nuts first in a dry skillet, shaking constantly over medium heat (oven toasting attempt ended poorly - method not recommended). Omitted the chili powder and brazil nuts - not needed. Served a little dollop alongside fresh tomatoes and fontina cheese with a drizzle of balsamic and salt/pepper to taste. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Do NOT SUBStiTuTE the pine nuts. I did and it was disaster, even when I toasted them. sooooo bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Very easy and basic. The hint of heat os something I always enjoy and put in many foods that yould not expect it. Not HOT just a "What is that?" feeling. Walnuts work fine although we prefer the toasted pine nuts alone. The restaurant I work at makes and freezes a year's worth at a time with the cheese with no problems at all. If you use the oil right the color is preserved perfectly, if you want the added security put lemon juice in it. A food processor is much better than a blender and hand mincing is best if you have the knife skills. Finally, there is a Pampered Chef recipe that uses chicken stock instead of oil which is amazing in small batches and still really good if used 1/2 & 1/2 in the smaller batches. Great Foundation recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Terrific w/or w/out brazil nuts or chili powder. I freeze extra in ice cube tray (then put in freezer bag) and use it all year long! Freshly grated parmesan makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I used a cup of raw almonds and half a cup of sunflower seeds instead of the expensive pine nuts. Toasted 'em then ground 'em. Still spectacular. This recipe is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I used only the ingredients listed, I didn't experiment and add a bunch of stuff and then try to rate your recipe. The taste was very nice, everyone liked it. It was as good as any pesto I've had at restaurants. Next time I'll toast the nuts before I add them. Four stars is only because I couldn't get the basil to "paste" in my blender. I ended up adding everything just to get it to blend. It could just be my blender. I'll try adding the basil in slowly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I like this recipe, and it worked well with the substitutions I had to make. I had no nuts, so I ground up a half cup of oats and added an extra TBS of oil. It tasted surprisingly good, and I hardly noticed the lack of nuttiness thanks to the Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have made this repeatedly over the past few years and am just now getting around to rating. As it stands, the recipe is maybe a three-star, but with a tiny bit of modification, it becomes much better. I add LOTS more garlic, some seasoned salt, and more parmesan. It's a good starting point, then play around with it until you're satisfied. I have found this freezes well in ice cube trays for future use. I have also poured a thin layer of olive oil over the top and frozen in a plastic container with good results, but I don't typically need a large amount all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by may2mac
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is the first time I have made pesto from scratch. I loosely followed the recipe I toasted the pine nuts, omitted the brazil nuts, used 4 cloves of garlic (which was a bit too strong so I'll reduce that next time to just 2), and lastly I didn't measure the oil but poured it in the blender until it was the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States