Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Delicious! I used walnuts instead of brazil nuts (too lazy to shell and couldn't find any shelled) and it was just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
It was so easy and quick. I didn't have pine or brazil nuts, so I used sliced almonds instead for crunch. It worked out perfectly. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I halved the ingredients to make a pasta dish for two. I omitted the brazil nuts and used a hand immersion blender to put it all together. The sauce was completed in 5 minutes flat and came out perfect. I added some coarse grey sea salt and heated it in a saucepan, adding a little heavy cream, and tossed it with papparadelle pasta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was very easy and tasty. Even if you have to replace ingredients, it still holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is wonderful! I added way too much garlic and still loved it. I froze it in ice cube trays then popped the frozen cubes into a freezer bag. One cube is enough for most recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Great base recipe and very flexible. I made it in my Cuisinart instead of the blender and tossed most of the ingredients in at once instead of gradually. I omitted the chili powder and used extra pine nuts (which I toasted first) in place of Brazil's. I also used Grana Padano cheese instead of Parmesan, which has a bit more nuttiness. All together it was really yummy! Am serving it over cheese tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Delicious! This is the best basil recipe yet! I toasted the pine nuts and brazil nuts for about 4 minutes in the toaster oven at 425. I added some kosher salt and pepper to taste, and was generous with the garlic. I was reluctant to add the chili powder, but I went ahead and it really is very subtle. I have made pestos with walnuts, pecans, etc so in a pinch you can use just about any nut, but pine nuts are traditional. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
It was excellent. I did however use extra Basil because we love love love basil and I put less nuts in it. I also put a little less olive oil. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parastu
Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is the first time I made pesto. There are two large lemon basil plants in my back garden. I created the paste like texture from my Kitchen Aid food processor. I did not use any Brazil nuts, only pine nuts. Like other reviewers, I did not add a full cup of olive oil. I experimented with the oil by starting with only a half cup and increasing it to almost 3/4 of a cup. Like anything else, it's easier to add than remove. I also added 1/2 tsp of black pepper from my pepper mill to add some zip to the pesto. Finally, you just need to add enough pesto to coat the pasta. Anything more will be too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was pretty tasty, tossed with penne. Suprisingly, it did need a little salt, even with the parmesan. I'm serving the leftovers with pasta and shrimp tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States