Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
What makes this recipe great is that the ingredients are simple (I never add Brazil nuts--I would if I had them on hand) and it always turns out perfect. I have to give five stars to a recipe where I never measure anything but it turns out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Real winner! I over-planted basil this year and was looking for ways to use/store it. This did the job nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good flavor for chicken and pasta dishes! I froze mine in ice cube trays and enjoyed it all winter. I did leave out the brazil nuts and I like it this way. No other changes to suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Delicious! I used walnuts instead of brazil nuts (too lazy to shell and couldn't find any shelled) and it was just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
It was so easy and quick. I didn't have pine or brazil nuts, so I used sliced almonds instead for crunch. It worked out perfectly. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I halved the ingredients to make a pasta dish for two. I omitted the brazil nuts and used a hand immersion blender to put it all together. The sauce was completed in 5 minutes flat and came out perfect. I added some coarse grey sea salt and heated it in a saucepan, adding a little heavy cream, and tossed it with papparadelle pasta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was very easy and tasty. Even if you have to replace ingredients, it still holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is wonderful! I added way too much garlic and still loved it. I froze it in ice cube trays then popped the frozen cubes into a freezer bag. One cube is enough for most recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Great base recipe and very flexible. I made it in my Cuisinart instead of the blender and tossed most of the ingredients in at once instead of gradually. I omitted the chili powder and used extra pine nuts (which I toasted first) in place of Brazil's. I also used Grana Padano cheese instead of Parmesan, which has a bit more nuttiness. All together it was really yummy! Am serving it over cheese tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Delicious! This is the best basil recipe yet! I toasted the pine nuts and brazil nuts for about 4 minutes in the toaster oven at 425. I added some kosher salt and pepper to taste, and was generous with the garlic. I was reluctant to add the chili powder, but I went ahead and it really is very subtle. I have made pestos with walnuts, pecans, etc so in a pinch you can use just about any nut, but pine nuts are traditional. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States