Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Maybe I just don't like pesto, but this seemed dry to me and way too much basil. You couldn't even taste anything else. Sorry, but I was actually being generous by giving it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
My all-time favorite pesto recipe! All the measurements were perfect as-is. I did have a hard time finding Brazil nuts, and ended up buying a can of mixed nuts, then picking out the Brazil nuts, both times I've made this. Since that's pretty expensive (and a hassle), next time I think I may omit the Brazil nuts entirely. I added about half the oil with the basil, as it was difficult to get it to blend, but that could just be my blender. Wonderful recipe though, a favorite of my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made this for the first time this week to add to my pasta sauce & it came out excellent! I will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was so tasty! I used pine nuts, since I always have those handy. I used up all my summer basil and made pesto "ice cubes" to freeze for a taste of summer during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Great pesto! I used it in "Creamy Pesto Pasta Salad with Chicken, Asparagus and Cherry Tomatoes" by Pam Anderson from this site. I've aldo spread it on crusty french bread and in a pesto cream sauce for whole wheat pasta. I did use all pinenuts, but that was my only change. EDIT: This is now my go-to pesto sauce. My mom sent me 3 lbs of Louisiana pecans so I always use that for the pesto. I like to slather this pesto on top of white fish before cooking in the oven. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
What makes this recipe great is that the ingredients are simple (I never add Brazil nuts--I would if I had them on hand) and it always turns out perfect. I have to give five stars to a recipe where I never measure anything but it turns out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Real winner! I over-planted basil this year and was looking for ways to use/store it. This did the job nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good flavor for chicken and pasta dishes! I froze mine in ice cube trays and enjoyed it all winter. I did leave out the brazil nuts and I like it this way. No other changes to suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Delicious! I used walnuts instead of brazil nuts (too lazy to shell and couldn't find any shelled) and it was just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
It was so easy and quick. I didn't have pine or brazil nuts, so I used sliced almonds instead for crunch. It worked out perfectly. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States