Simple Garlic Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Almost skipped the caper brine but decided on a last minute trip to the store for it. Absolutely worth it as it adds a certain zing. Company or weeknight - couldn't be better! Be sure to watch the video: it is short and gives helpful instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by itachandra
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I love this! I didn't have caper brine, but it still turned out perfect to me. I added some chicken cubes (as I didn't have enough shrimp on hand at the time), cooked first before the shrimp as it needs more time. I served this with pasta for a quick dinner, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itachandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
So tasty, and so simple. I also did not have caper brine, but used green olive juice instead. Rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Very good! I did not use the caper brine, instead I used white cooking wine! I mixed the sauce and shrimp with cooked angel hair pasta and topped with freshly grated parmesan cheese! This is an excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This recipe is so simple to make and really tasty..I found that the red pepper flakes add a world of difference .. I didn't have the caper brine so I left it out and it still was very tasty...thanks Chef John for the recipe and the video ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a great meal My little one is not a fan of GARLIC but she loved this one.. I did add capers to the dish not justs the the Brine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bogan3253
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
The only tweak I made was to only add one of the 1 1/2 T of cold butter, as I like more of a thicker sauce than a soupy one. Simple recipe to execute. Kudos to Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bogan3253

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Be prepared to pull out the shrimp when they are done and finish the sauce separately. Smaller shrimp may cook faster than required to finish off the sauce and it is critical to avoid over cooking the shrimp. Have the ingredients fully prepped, as in measured and combined where appropriate, and not just putting containers out on the counter. Husband calls this one a keeper, 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was a really good recipe and super easy. I made sure I had everything measured out and ready to pour in the pan. Doubled the recipe for a Father's Day dinner. Watched the video before I made. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
OMG, wow! Just finished eating this and it is hands down, the best recipe that I have made from this website (I've made a lot). SO delicious, and SO much flavor! Absolutely restaurant-quality shrimp. In my opinion, the caper brine makes the dish -- it adds a certain sourness/saltiness that for me puts it over the top. Very simple to make too! I can't say enough how great this is. If you're planning on making this, DO NOT leave out the caper brine. I served it over toasted baguette slices to soak up all of the yummy sauce...amazing. Thank you so much for this recipe Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States