Simple Garlic Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Well I DID have caper brine, so I followed the recipe to the tee. I made sure the olive oil smoked but not the butter. The garlic remained light as did the whole sauce. The green parsley and red shrimp tails presented beautifully over the linguini. I may not have added all the parsley as directed by the end of cooking--but it didn't not really matter. Nice recipe--gonna try it over rustic italian bread next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
AMAZING! You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I made it as written and I really wouldn't change a thing. Mincing the garlic so it was very fine seemed to eliminate that bite of raw garlic that I'd feared because it really doesn't cook very long. After I removed the shrimp from the pan, I tossed 8 ounces of cooked linguine in the pan sauce, then added the shrimp before serving. The whole dish took just minutes to make. The shrimp were cooked perfectly and the sauce was so delicious. I served it to guests with a side dish of roasted asparagus and cherry tomatoes for a simple, elegant summer dinner. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was delicious. I cooked the shrimp in the olive oil but removed it after it was cooked, as I didn't want to over-cook it and eat tough shrimp. Since my family loves garlic, I used 8 cloves of garlic. I didn't have capers so I used green olive brine, which was still OK in the recipe. I mixed some white wine, a bit of sour cream, and Parmesan cheese into the butter sauce. I mixed the shrimp and al dente bow tie pasta into the sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
After following the recipe using the measurements given, when I took the shrimp out all I was left with was a little dampness in the pan. I had to add more than twice as much more butter and lemon juice to get any sort of sauce at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
We loved this easy recipe & plan to make it again & again. Added extra butter to thicken the sauce & poured over rice. Pasta would be good too. I used the caper brine, which was an excellent use for a bottle of capers that usually does not get used up. Will make it for company with a salad and rustic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Really the best tasting scampi I ever made. The brine makes a BIG difference. Do not skip on the secret ingredient. I did add a little bit of white wine at the end as I like more sauce for my rice. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made this recipe with shrimp and scallops in same pan. I also used dried parsley and, in addition to the caper brine, 1 TBS of capers. Served this over rice pilaf and had rave reviews from guests. Quick and easy recipe that is just unbelievably delicious. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This was very tasty and went over very well with my guests -- looking fwd to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Léonce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was really very good - I made exactly as directed Boyfriend and I both enjoyed it. It's much easier if you have everything prepared and measured before you start, especially if you are cooking other things at the same time. We served this over white rice and just happen to have a zucchini from the garden that had to be cooked, so we fried it up using another recipe on this site. Great meal. p.s. I need to double or triple the sauce, perhaps by adding some white wine to it after removing the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States