Simple Garlic Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
We loved this easy recipe & plan to make it again & again. Added extra butter to thicken the sauce & poured over rice. Pasta would be good too. I used the caper brine, which was an excellent use for a bottle of capers that usually does not get used up. Will make it for company with a salad and rustic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Really the best tasting scampi I ever made. The brine makes a BIG difference. Do not skip on the secret ingredient. I did add a little bit of white wine at the end as I like more sauce for my rice. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made this recipe with shrimp and scallops in same pan. I also used dried parsley and, in addition to the caper brine, 1 TBS of capers. Served this over rice pilaf and had rave reviews from guests. Quick and easy recipe that is just unbelievably delicious. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This was very tasty and went over very well with my guests -- looking fwd to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Léonce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was really very good - I made exactly as directed Boyfriend and I both enjoyed it. It's much easier if you have everything prepared and measured before you start, especially if you are cooking other things at the same time. We served this over white rice and just happen to have a zucchini from the garden that had to be cooked, so we fried it up using another recipe on this site. Great meal. p.s. I need to double or triple the sauce, perhaps by adding some white wine to it after removing the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I had an accidental incident as I cooking other dishes at the same time, so my shrimp was cooked pretty much at the point and flipped when I had to add the garlic, so added in 1/2 garlic (and I had at least 10 cloves minced) with the shrimp knowing that a minute or two at medium heat will still give garlic flavor without the garlic bite that raw garlic has.Me and my SO prefer undercooked/raw vs burnt and detest overcooked shrimp. I added the caper brine to the lemon juice as suggested but me and my SO LOVE capers so I added in about a table spoon of medium sized capers. I then cooked through the garlic and added butter until saucy as my fresh pasta (Brand name found in refrigerated section) angel hair cooked, and so I added the pasta to the sauce with the garlic, parsley and caper mixture with added butter...then added in the already cooked shrimp as I took it off the heat. The fresh cooked pasta still had some of the water because I took it out of the pot with tongs which loosened up the sauce but still stuck to the pasta enough and then added back in the half coated garlic shrimp and tossed. End result, pasta covered with flavor with perfect ratio of shrimp to pasta (about .75 to 1 lb shrimp with 9 ounces of fresh brand name angel hair) garlic and caper ratio. Again we LOVE capers, so for us to add in whole capers was not to say this recipe isn't delicious - but a perfect recipe for people to use as a base and adjust accordingly to taste a it's quick and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Placed cast iron pan in an oven I heated to 400 degrees. Prepped all ingredients in advance --- chopped garlic, chopped parsley, juiced lemons, measured juice, added caper brine. Rinsed shrimp and shook off most of the water. Pulled the hot pan out of the oven, placed it on a high burner, added the oil and started cooking - it was done in less than 5 minutes once the cooking started. So fast! So easy!!! Anytime you get a recipe that the hardest part is mincing garlic ---- you know you have a winner. This cooks so fast, you not only have to have your ingredients prepped, you need to have all of the side dishes ready, also. I only had time to toast the bread --- not even time to throw together a salad --- once this started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My 10-year old son picked this recipe out to make last night. I was skeptical (not being a fan of capers) but I have to say, the caper brine made the dish. We made one batch with fish (it turned out incredibly tasty), and one with shrimp. They licked their platters clean, and I think I'm going to see my son on "chopped" about 10 years from now if he keeps it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
We enjoyed this recipe. If I did it again I would saute the garlic before putting the shrimp in. The garlic was a little raw and a bit strong for our tastes (and we love garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 121-130 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States