Simple Garlic Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
THE easiest crostini topping ever. VERY flavorful, using a few simple ingredients already on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I used hunts fire roasted tomatoes for more flavor, 1/2 diced & seeded jalapeno, 1/3 cup of evo & 2 chopped green onions [white & green parts]. Let it set overnite if possible & make adjsxtments the next day if needed. I add some chalula hot sauce sometimes. I like it because it's not a harsh hot sauce like tabasco. You know it's in there but it doesn't overpower the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this when I was in a pinch and needed salsa for a recipe but did not have any on hand. I agree with others that say this is not quite a salsa as most would imagine it. It is not bad, but not an exact replacement for regular salsa. I think this is better as a bruschetta or something similar. For my current needs I reduced the olive oil by half, but would leave it as is if I made it again for other purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Sensational! what a great recipe! short on time? used canned diced, got a little more time? Use fresh tomatoes (and if from your garden- at no cost!) and dice, the herbs and spices are already on most pantry shelves - no special trip to the store! Best of all - it tastes GREAT. My DH hates peppers and I can't tell you how many times I've got to skip over salsa because it has them - he cant even stand the smell of 'em. so for us this is THE recipe. I do add diced onion, red or sweet or both! and I do add a bit of hot sauce sometimes for zip but this is the rock upon which I build my salsa! thanks Lila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I think before people continue to berate this recipe they need to realize that there are various types of parsley. Cooking with your general, curly-leafed parsley used for garnish in many Western nations will give you little flavour. Italian parsley, however, is much closer to cilantro, and Chinese parsley is EXACTLY the same thing as cilantro. In regions where the latter are used commonly for cooking, some people simply call it 'parsley'. Different places, different names ('cilantro', by the way, is also called 'coriander' in an many Asian nations). This is meant to be a simple pasta, and with the right type of parsley it is just that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmithinJapan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Yummy! I used a big bunch of cilantro rather than the parsley, and would suggest using a 1/3 cup of olive oil rather than a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Well, Lila, I loved this. Sure, its isn't a salsa, per say, but it is wonderful as a crostini topping. I changed things a bit but got the same idea as you. I used fresh, chopped Roma tomatoes and added chopped red onion. I used less extra virgin olive than you and about five cloves of fresh minced garlic. I had my Italian uncle and aunt over and they loved it served on toasted bagette bread for crostini appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
Needs some flavor and a lot less oil. This is not really so much a salsa as garlic-flavored tomatoes (which you can find right next to the diced tomatoes, anyway).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States