Simple Garbanzos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I love garbanzos, I love peas; this was a perfect recipe for me! Delicious! Some minor adjustments: I doubled the peas to 1/2 cup, and reduced the olive oil to 4 T. In addition to tasting wonderful, the salad looked beautiful as well, and I think it would make a nice side dish for a summer bbq. Of course, with all the garlic and onions, I should probably put a bowl of mints right next to it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I skipped the peas. The garbanzos alone were really good, but I think I added more onion than I should have. Definately a nice chilled bean salad that will go in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Quick & easy meal! I didn't have onions nor garlic, so I used onion & garlic powders. I added one can of tomatoes with onion & garlic, decreased the oil to 4 tbsp (btw...that's 1/4 cup) and increased the peas to about 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was surprisingly good and so easy to make. I didn't even know I liked garbanzos but now I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Loved this! I added diced orange bell pepper for a little extra texture and flavor. I increased the cayenne pepper a tad and as other reviews did, I also increased the peas to 1/2 cup and decreased the olive oil to 3 Tbsp. Ate as a side dish, but could definitely eat as a snack as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I cannot keep my spoon out of these! As is, they are perfect but I spiced them up to my liking and added a shook of Italian seasoning in addition to the oregano. Along with some roasted brussels sprounts, these made a lovely little mini-meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktchristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These are a delicious side and even better the next day! It's one of those where you can add more of what you like - i think i added more garlic, onion and red pepper flakes. So easy; definitely a winner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Myers Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This was a great weeknight picnic recipe. Simple and quick and lots of flavor. I also decreased the amount of olive oil and increased the peas to 1/2 cup. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Was looking for some healthy snack/side recipes using garbanzos and came across this. It is delicious! I didn't have lemon so I subbed lime juice, ommitted the peas (don't like frozen peas) and added a little less olive oil and a little more salt. Made them last nigth and marinated overnight to bring to work with my lunch and they are absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I thought this was a good basic recipe, but it lacked a little luster as it was, so I rated it a 3. We added Feta and added sea salt. With these adjustments it made it a 4 star. I will definitely make it again since I almost always have it's ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States