Simple Delicious Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have made this for years, using up tomatoes from the garden fresh is best...so quick -- then if a big batch -- freeze in batches for a meal, good when you are on your own and quick. good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very simple and what I liked about it.... no sugar!!! It is not suppose to be a desert and when I make mine, which is much more extensive, there is no sugar or any substitute for it. Sugar is unhealthy as we all know. Save it for the desert! Godknows most of us like desert! A touch of apple cider vinegar may improve the taste with a little more salt for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this today and it was delicious! I used pureed tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes (kids like it better); I used a garlic press rather than finely chopping the garlic; and I only used 2 large cloves instead of 4. I serve this with buttered bow tie pasta and a couple of handfuls of grana padana. This was a great dish on hot a summer day! Thanks for the recipe, Lissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Very easy and simple. I love that the ingredients are items I typically have in the cupboard. Other than wishing I would have used the small diced tomatoes instead of the chunky ones, recipe was great. Per other reviews, I added Italian Seasoning and Oregano for additional flavor - glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good sauce. My husband loves making it and even more he loves eating it. We always double the recipe because we both like lots of sauce on our pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hunter, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was better than I expected. I also added some italian seasoning and basil and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
i make this all the time, its so good and fresh tasting. i don't add quite as much garlic and always use san marzano tomatoes! a little of fresh basil also makes it wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was a quick and easy sauce. Also very yummy. I added a tablespoon of prepared pesto and it was delicious. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaToNikolas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I only used 2 garlic cloves, and added Italian seasoning as others suggested. I also used a potato masher to break the tomatoes down into more of a saucy consistency. I added a little chicken broth and reduced the sauce to make it thicker, and threw in a little sugar because I like a sweeter sauce. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sea Cliff, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States