Simple Delicious Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very simple and what I liked about it.... no sugar!!! It is not suppose to be a desert and when I make mine, which is much more extensive, there is no sugar or any substitute for it. Sugar is unhealthy as we all know. Save it for the desert! Godknows most of us like desert! A touch of apple cider vinegar may improve the taste with a little more salt for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this today and it was delicious! I used pureed tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes (kids like it better); I used a garlic press rather than finely chopping the garlic; and I only used 2 large cloves instead of 4. I serve this with buttered bow tie pasta and a couple of handfuls of grana padana. This was a great dish on hot a summer day! Thanks for the recipe, Lissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Very easy and simple. I love that the ingredients are items I typically have in the cupboard. Other than wishing I would have used the small diced tomatoes instead of the chunky ones, recipe was great. Per other reviews, I added Italian Seasoning and Oregano for additional flavor - glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good sauce. My husband loves making it and even more he loves eating it. We always double the recipe because we both like lots of sauce on our pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hunter, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was better than I expected. I also added some italian seasoning and basil and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
i make this all the time, its so good and fresh tasting. i don't add quite as much garlic and always use san marzano tomatoes! a little of fresh basil also makes it wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was a quick and easy sauce. Also very yummy. I added a tablespoon of prepared pesto and it was delicious. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaToNikolas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I only used 2 garlic cloves, and added Italian seasoning as others suggested. I also used a potato masher to break the tomatoes down into more of a saucy consistency. I added a little chicken broth and reduced the sauce to make it thicker, and threw in a little sugar because I like a sweeter sauce. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Sorry, my family said this tasted like heated canned tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookpark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is 5 stars for a SIMPLE, quick tomato sauce. I needed a quick sauce for meatball sandwiches and this worked really well. Next time, I'll try adding a little Italian seasoning. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States