Simple Crustless Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Incredibly delicious, easy to make, and healthy too! Very little prep time involved as using a blender to make the egg mixture speeds up the process - - pop it in the oven and go about doing other tasks. Made changes based on suggestions by some reviewers as well as an aim to reduce the fat content and pack this already healthy quiche with more vegetables. Instead of 2 cups sour cream, used 1-1/4 cups sour cream and 3/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt (6 oz. tub) based on several reviewers feeling it was a tad sour tasting. Added 1/4 red bell pepper, 1 large carrot, 1/4 Vidalia onion, 2 cloves garlic, and the entire (10 ounce) package frozen spinach. Left the egg mixture pretty much as is except for adding 1 more egg and subbing almond milk for the heavy whipping cream. Used a 9" deep dish ceramic pie baker, and the dish was filled perfectly. Took 50 minutes to bake given the extra ingredients which were added. The only change next time would be to adjust the seasonings a little for our personal preferences and be a bit more liberal with the hot sauce. Thank you for sharing, hrgdane, and this recipe is destined to be a winner on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
i tried making this in my little conventional toaster oven b/c i didn't want to make the kitchen hotter than it already was.. so the top layer was burnt a bit.. but other than that it came out super tasty.. used almost all greek yogurt with a little bit of sour cream.. didn't have the parm so i added a bit of mozz.. used fresh onion.. didn't have the spinach so added some baby peppers in this.. super yummy.. will like to see how it would come out in the regular oven.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Simply delicious! My husband said better than Panera. I followed the advice of others and used fresh onion and fresh garlic when cooking the mushrooms. I also added a dash or two of dry prepared mustard and black pepper. Since others said it was a touch sour, I also used 1 1/2 cups of sour cream instead of two, and used almost 1/2 c. of the heavy cream. I accidentally used the whole box of spinach instead of half. I poured into two unbaked pie crusts and baked for 40 minutes. PERFECT. Thank you for such a delightful special dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by locklear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I loved this Quiche so much that when my husband walked in the door I placed a large bite of it in his mouth. He loved it! Small change I made was diced and fried 1 lb. of bacon an added. Also used (9) 6" round paper bakeware,baked for 33 minutes, cooled, and froze for the RV trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlaDarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Absoslutley delicious. I used broccoli but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make this again and pass it along to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I bet it's awesome as is, but I had to alter...only added 1c sour cream (all I had) and about a quarter cup half n half, didn't have spinach either but added green onion. Sauteed mushrooms in a bit of truffle oil with the butter. Also, mine cooked at 350 for 35 minutes, then I shut oven off and continued to cook for another 12 minutes...perfect :) Husband and I both really liked it :) Thank you for submitting a very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SH0NI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Did use the reviews of others to modify - adding red bell pepper really helped make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I have just finished preparing this quiche. I had to substitute powdered onion and garlic for fresh. Also I used fresh spinach and peppercorn cheddar. I used creame fresh instead of 2% sour cream and 2 tbls of half n half. WOW! More prep but came away with a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Wonderful. Substituted non-fat greek yogurt for thr dour dream, added fresh chopped onion, gsrlic and chopped red peppers to the mushrooms in the third step. Needed a bigger fish since also used entire package of spinach. Bery easy to make and very filling. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Doubled mushrooms n used freak spinach sautéed in mushroom cook sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States