Simple Crustless Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is the most amazing and delicious quiche I've ever made, and I've made a ton of quiche. The only thing I changed was subbed Greek yogurt for the sour cream, and included a chopped onions with the mushroom, omitted the onion powder, and added a tablespoon of ground mustard. A winner and a keeper for sure!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rbecca11
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is ALMOST a real 5 star recipe, quite unlike any crustless quiche I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly, because I think it is unfair to rate a recipe that has been modified. It is delicious as it stands - the texture is so smooth and it is very, very rich. The directions are easy to follow, and it is uncomplicated to make. There were three of us at dinner, and I divided it into fourths, but it would easily serve six, as none of us could completely finish our portions. My husband commented that it could be more colorful, so I think I'll add some diced sweet red pepper to the mushrooms next time I make it. I might also use diced onion and garlic, as some reviewers have suggested. Also, it took mine a full hour in the oven to be ready to eat. Thanks for the great recipe; we all agreed that I should make it again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Awesome. I was fridge-raiding to use up my overstock of eggs, but didn't have all the ingredients, so I used different cheese (mozzarella and a basil/tomato white cheddar mixed) and threw in a little Sopressa for kicks and this quiche turned out better than most I've purchased at bistros. I highly recommend trying this out and/or adding your own twist. It was easy to prepare before baking as well, which is important to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was delicious and easy! I subbed greek yogurt for the sour cream, used fresh spinach instead, and added some extra spices instead of using hot sauce. The sourness of the greek yogurt had me a bit concerned, so I sprinkled just a few dashes of sugar in, too. Like previous commenters, I sauteed the mushrooms with minced garlic. I also used pecorino instead of parmesan because it was what I had on hand. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
My husband and I thought this was delicious! It was certainly easy. None of my kids would try it however, but I don't know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is FABULOUS! I'm always looking for lower/no carb breakfast casseroles & quiche's & this is perfect! I didn't use the heavy cream(not sure why it's needed) & baked it in my small 10x7 cake pan, checked it at 35 min. & it was done perfectly. When I've made crustless quiche's in the past, they tend to puff while baking & fall while cooling. Not the case with this one. Absolutely LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This quiche was great! I substituted half a chopped onion and 2 minced garlic cloves for the onion and garlic powder and just sauteed with the mushrooms. It had tons of flavor this way! I also did not have cheddar on hand, but had monterey jack so I just used that. Still great! Will try with cheddar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Fantastic. I made it lower in fat and was still blown away. Omitted cream, used fat free greek yogurt instead of sour cream and only had a can of mushrooms so fried them up with fresh spinach and red peppers using only Pam spray. Next time I don't think I will even use all the cheddar called for. Best quiche I ever made. You will not miss the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Simply delicious! My husband said better than Panera. I followed the advice of others and used fresh onion and fresh garlic when cooking the mushrooms. I also added a dash or two of dry prepared mustard and black pepper. Since others said it was a touch sour, I also used 1 1/2 cups of sour cream instead of two, and used almost 1/2 c. of the heavy cream. I accidentally used the whole box of spinach instead of half. I poured into two unbaked pie crusts and baked for 40 minutes. PERFECT. Thank you for such a delightful special dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by locklear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Delicious! Enjoyed it thoroughly. It is a tad on the sour side but still very tasty overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States