Simple Country Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This will work in the oven - wrap in foil sprayed with cooking spray and place in a baking dish to catch any leaks. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes, then open foil and bake an additional 10 minutes to help carmelize the sauce on the meat. You may have to adjust cooking time depending on the size of the ribs, and you can turn them during the last 10 minutes if you want. I used this method often when I did not have a grill for ribs and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
582 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Ok, so I have made country ribs many times before, and I've always seasoned them with salt and pepper & boiled them in plain water before grilling them with bbq sauce... and I thought they were pretty good. Well, let me tell you. I will never make them that way again! I am so glad I tried this because the ribs had so much more bbq flavor and they were so tender and moist. They came out dry sometimes when I did them my old way. I only made about 1 lb. since it's just me and my hubby, and they were awesome! Thanks for the recipe!! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
451 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLIVIAC15163

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugheston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
These were great! I used boneless country style ribs and boiled them up the day before. I boiled the ribs for 40 minutes and then took the ribs out. The sauce was pretty thin so I boiled it more to thicken it. I put the ribs and sauce in a plastic bag and refrigerated them overnight. The next day we just fired up the grill and cooked them about 20 minutes using the thicken sauce to baste. They were very tasty and tender. Our guest asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
O! M! G! THIS WAS SOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOD!!! I used 1 large bottle of masterpiece bbq sauce, 3/4 cup of sugar, a splash of lemon, and just enough water to cover the ribs. Instead of 40 min, i boiled mine for about an hour and a half...we were waiting for my mother-in-law to get home so decided to just keep boiling them till she was almost home...and it turned out soooo goood! the meat was sooooo tender and juicy! we didn't think we were going to finish all of it but it was gone in no time!!! i also took another reviewers suggestion and let it sit covered for about 10 minutes before eating! thanks for the recipe! will make everytime now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is a great way to make tender juicy ribs (or chicken). I use beer instead of water and that really gives it a savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Cooking the ribs in BBQ sauce is a great idea. Thanks. I cooked them in a slow cooker and they were fall off the bone tender. The sauce I used needed some kick so I added a little vinegar and hot sauce. After they cooked, the sauce was so good, I reduced it to use it as a grilling and dipping sauce. I've made these twice now, and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was a great way to grill. I have tried other recipes where you boil the ribs then bake them and I was wanting to try one that I could use the grill. I decided to try this. I was skeptical about boiling it with bbq sauce and then using it to baste with. I figured it would be real runny with the water but everything cooked down and got thickened just like a perfect bbq sauce. I will use this method again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
These are amazing. Now this is the only way that I make these. It makes the meat so tender and it falls right off the bone. I did take some of the other reviewers advice and add some spices to the water while simmering. Makes the meat have this wonderful flavor. We have this great smokehouse restaurant here and these are almost exactly like the ribs I can get there. Thank you so much for posting. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This is a great rib recipe. I loved pre-cooking the ribs in the oven and just glazing them on the grill. Less chance for me to burn them. I ended up cooking my ribs about an hour. But they were still super tender and tasty. Make sure you get a good bbq sauce since the extra spice won't really do much if you buy a cheap sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Great method for cooking ribs, Tammi. Thanks for sharing.The ribs came out "falling off the bone tender and moist" just the way we like them. But why waste the time and effort with a bottled store bought sauce? I encourage everyone to try the Bourbon Whisky BBQ Sauce by Kevin on this site. You'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Simple Barbeque Ribs

These tender, authentic ribs are boiled and baked, and so simple to make.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States