Simple Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I have made this three times now and we just love it. Depending on the seasoning of my chicken, I may or may not add a little organic boullion to the mix to spice it up a bit. I only use 1/3 of the cup of flour as the 1/2 cup seems to floury to us. Thanks!!! I had never made gravy before and this made it easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAUSTIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Delicious and super easy. Would certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I thought the flavor was good, but the amt of flour was too much. I'd probably cut it down to 1/4 cup or so. It was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Use less flour, it was very thick. Also use chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I'm a decent cook & anyone can follow a recipe. Maybe I just don't like really thick gravies. Maybe it's a Northeast thing. It was an extremely thick, glutonous, flavorless gravy. No amount of salt, pepper or other seasonings could save it. It was so thick, I could have spread it on bread. I'm giving it two stars because I suspect using chicken stock instead of water & less flour or the lighter corn starch might have some favorable impact on this. But as it stands, it was not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Quick and easy. I would probably use a little less flour next time, but my wife thought the consistency was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Super recipe...simple and tastes great! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This gravy turned out fantastic. It was so good. I used chicken stock instead of water and it was so good. I will make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
We used chicken broth to the drippings instead of water. I found there to be too much flour mixture and the gravy got too thick. We had to add chicken broth to thin it out. Lacks flavor, so make sure you add lots of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Thanks for a great, basic recipe. Whisking the flour and water together before adding to the drippings is something I wouldn't have tried on my own and it worked beautifully! I have used stock and broth with this recipe and it works well too. Thanks again. !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States