Simple Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Perfectly done. This is the sure, simple, and quick way to make gravy that turns out delicious every time. The Hubster loves gravy and this is his favorite. It doesn't matter what seasonings you use on your chicken, as long as it's flavors that you love & it is seasoned well. If you're just roasting a bland chicken, expect a bland gravy. Otherwise, you'll always get a perfect gravy by this method. I will usually boil the giblets separately while the chicken is roasting to make a stock to use for this gravy in place of the water. Use your instincts and add stock/water/flour as you need to get that perfect consistency for your gravy. I add a little sea salt & ground white pepper and it's done. So easy! Thanks for the staple recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I used this as a baseline for the gravy... it was twice as much flour as we should have used, i ended up having to add 1cup more water and some chicken oxo. But with our lemon pepper rotisserie chicken drippings it was a huge hit, and we'll use it on our poutine, thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
The reason I make gravy is to pour it over mashed potatoes. So after my potatoes were boiled, I used leftover potato water for more flavor. I also add a tsp. of bouillon and a dash of poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Simple could not explain any better how easy it is to make this gravy. Tweaked the recipe a little, added 2 chicken boullion cubes, a dash of poultry seasoning and salt and pepper. Did not measure the flour or water did it by eye and taste like my mom did. Thanks for a very easy delicious gravy. Will pass on to my daughter-in-law, my son will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keansburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was delicious...very moist. I did make a few changes since I didn't have all of the ingredients. I put cut up celery inside the chicken along with tastefully simple's onion onion and garlic garlic as well as on top. I pierced the chicken all over before adding the bacon to the top and I also used rosemary instead of thyme. I would definately make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is really easy and really good! I realized I didnt have any flour so I used cornstarch. I also used chicken broth for more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Loved it. I used water at first, but it was too bland. I added the broth from Campbell's chicken noodle soup and a few pinches of Chicken Bouillon to taste. Turned out great! I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Pretty plain. I spiced it up with some poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferry, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Era, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly after roasting a chicken today and it did not turn out well at all. It tasted of flour and not much else, and it felt like flour in my mouth. Next time, I will use 2 tbsp instead of 1/2 cup, and corn starch instead of flour. I will also use broth instead of water, and maybe a little cream if I feel so inclined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States