Simple Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I cut the flour to 1/4 cup and "toasted" it in the drippings (like when making a roux) before slowly stirring in chicken stock. I used a little more liquid than the recipe called for and salted/peppered to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very good! Thank you so much for submitting this very simple recipe. I loved it! (made it for "Juicy Roasted Chicken", which I also loved-and this gravy DID NOT DISAPPOINT!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Maltais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this recipe with the drippings from my roasted, organic chicken. I did use a slightly rounded 1/4 cup of flour and ended up adding a bit more water (with a bit of chicken broth granules) until it was the consistency I like. It was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I made chicken in my crock pot for hot chicken sandwiches tonight. I cooked the chicken in broth, with some garlic, and onion powder. Also added some Bell's Seasoning for turkey. Poure the drippings from the crock pot into a small pot, and cooked it up on the stove. Used only about a 1/4 cup of flour. It turned out very good! Thanks John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
you HAVE to "cook" the flour or you will get the "floury" taste people are talking about. 1/4 to 1/3 cup of flour is all you need (unless you have a ton of drippings) but you need to whisk the flour over medium heat with the drippings for about 5 minutes...then whisk in your water or chicken stock (I use stock). I season it with crushed rosemary, savory and sage as well as salt and pepper as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This turned out great by accident. The instructions say to whisk flour with water (1 cup I assumed) until it becomes thick. Mine did not become thick at all, so I added more and more flour until it finally became thick but when i tasted it, it was awful. I started over and when it still wouldn't get thick at all with the 1/2 cup of flower, I went ahead and dumped it into the very hot chicken broth from the chicken, it thickened up perfectly and tasted great. I don't know if the instructions are unclear, but if you try this don't be surprised if the water and flour do not get thick at all until you mix it with the hot chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Great! I didn't use as much flour and I had simmered the neck while chicken roasted and used that stock instead of water. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berry Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
1 word, YUM! I'm making gravy from scratch for this thanksgiving (2 days away) and wanted to do a trial run as I had a couple bad results the few times I've made. Not only was it super easy but was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Buck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I'm sure it was something I did but mine tasted like pure flour. Blah. Consistency was great but the taste was unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Curley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Gravy was awesome and so easy! I took the advise of previous posters and only used 1/3 cup flour. I used the drippings from a roasted chicken that was seasoned with garlic, onion, celery, and butter. I added additional salt and pepper during the whisking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary LeJeune Swatsworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States