Simple Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Added chicken stock and a little cornstarch. The chicken was ovn fried. The drippings included olive oil and the other seasonings which made this gravy awesome. I really reccomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I tried this thinking it would be a quick and easy way to make gravy; however, was somewhat disappointed. The trick to a really good gravy is to make a roux of equal parts butter and flour, cooking it while stirring constantly until it develops a carmel colour and has a nutty smell. When ready to make the gravy, whisk the four/butter mixture into broth/drippings. This will enhance the flavour (without the raw flour taste) and will thicken the gravy. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
It was great. I transferred the drippings to another pot as opposed to using the baking pan. For the water, I used the water the giblets were boiling in for extra added flavor. I also agree with using less flour, approx 1/4 cup but otherwise delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
A bit bland though I had cooked my chicken with butter, salt, pepper and a bit of dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
It turned out great! I used two cups of chicken dripping instead of 1/1/2 cups. It was mouth watering. Yum!!! And yes the spices mean all the difference. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I used a can of chicken broth instead of the water. I also used 1/3 cup all purpose gluten free flour. It was very good and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was the easiest recipie for gravy I have ever seen, and it is absolutely delicious! I can't wait to try it with all my favorite dinners. I left some larger chicken pieces in the dripping to give the gravy a little bit extra. And it turned out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
If you decide to use this recipe, use only 2 tablespoons of flour. This recipe calls for way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I cut the flour to 1/4 cup and "toasted" it in the drippings (like when making a roux) before slowly stirring in chicken stock. I used a little more liquid than the recipe called for and salted/peppered to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States