Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I used this on both bone in chicken and boneless chicken that I was frying. Made everything nice and moist and had a wonderful flavor. I followed the recipe to a T and did rinse my meat after draining and we didn't find anything to be overly salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe as a base several times now and am not sure why so many think it is overly salty. I have never rinsed my chicken after brining for 2-5 hours before grilling and it does not overwhelm me with salt sat all. I do often use a mixture of ponzu and soy b/c I like the citrus flavor but that does not really reduce the salt amounts. Maybe the salt is more pronounced when the meat is roasted as opposed to grilled?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Best chicken brine recipe I've found yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nramey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Worked great. Nice Juicy Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My go to recipe for a whole chicken! I am Gluten Free- like others I sub for Braggs Aminos instead of soy sauce. Let the brine cool in the fridge overnight & then let my chicken "soak" in it for 7 hrs. Rinse well and omg sooo yummy :) For those that say it is too salty- try only 8hrs and RINSE well ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Very easy and flavorful. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very good and a good brine for all kinds of meats, use it for my smoker also. One thing that very important, NEVER USE ALUMINUM TO BRINE IN or aluminum utensils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaChef127

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Accord, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious. The chicken was very moist and had a good flavor. I did use cold water instead of warm which diddn't seem to make a difference. Also I took it out an hour before I wanted to cook it and rinsed it off, lined it on a baking sheet, and placed it uncovered for one hour in the refrigerator. To help the skin get crispier when it baked. I also took the advice of some of the reviews and added brown suger, onion powder, garlic powder, and warchestier sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I have used this recipe for a couple of years...and I add crushed garlic and a bit of hot Serrano peppers. I buy organic free range chickens and this brine makes them juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I used this with skinless drumsticks and then fried as I normally would. My husband said it was the best I've made so far and that while it still wasn't like what his mother used to make (ARRRGGHH), he would like to have it again. I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States