Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Really good and really easy! The chicken was sooooo tender. However, if you plan to cook your chicken in a slow cooker, you're going to need to shorten your cooking time if you brine. Otherwise, the chicken will just fall apart. I was worried that the soy sauce would overpower it but not at all. Everyone loved it and said it was their favorite so far. I cook a chicken about once a week and am always trying different recipes. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
631 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've brined a few chickens and turkeys, and before you cook it, YOU NEED TO RINSE IT. Then your bird won't be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by priscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The basis for this is good, but in my opinion whole chickens should be brined for 1-2 hours in cold water. Longer than that and you'll take up too much salt. Also when cooking, consider stuffing the body cavity with onions, apples, and other high moisture things and the chicken will come out super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nox

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
If using table salt or canning salt use half of what is called for if kosher is listed in recipe. I have unintentionally brined a whole chicken for over 24 hrs (when dinner plans changed) and it was not over salted or mushy. I also do not rinse my birds after brining and have not noticed any effects. To make sure the salt and sugar disolve I fill a half gallon container about half full with the warmest water I can get out of the tap. Add salt and sugar, stir until disolved. Add ice to container, stir to cool water down. Strain ice if desired and fill container to bring to 1gal then add soy and other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a great foundation kind of recipe. You can add your own touch. I agree with Nox,COLD is the way to go. I used brown sugar,garlic and onion powder. A few shakes of crushed red pepper, added a little kick.I will never roast another chicken, turkey etc. without brining it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Really good brine. Made my grilled chicken really moist and juicy without being overwhelming. NOTE: You cannot use table salt or it will be too salty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I always do my brine differently and decided to review this one and it was no where near as good as the one I already use. I always add whole peppercorns, herbs, salt, garlic, sugar, etc and no oil to a stock pot filled with water and then I bring it to a boil, let it cool in an ice bath until very cold, then add the chicken to it and leave in fridge for 24 hours, I flip the chicken after 12 hours. I always rinse my chicken before roasting, but I also add a pinch of salt, pepper, and lemon juice or chicken broth poured over the chicken in pan. I always preheat oven to 400 degrees and lower temp to 350 after putting in the chicken, and add 10-15min cooking time to make sure skin is crispy because using a brine softens the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I have always wanted to try a recipe for "chicken brine" and this one looked easy and I had all the ingredients (or so I thought). I placed the one gallon of warm water in a big pot and added "regular" table salt (but only half of the 3/4 cup--I only did this because of what the other reviewers stated about using regular table salt). I thought I had kosher salt and since I did not, I had to substitute at the last second. I added the sugar, soy sauce and olive oil and proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I allowed the whole chicken to sit in the brine for 4 hours and then I drained it, rinsed off the chicken and just placed it in a pot with a lid in the refrigerator overnight until dinner time the next evening. The chicken stayed nice and moist even in the pot overnight. I roasted the chicken in my rotisserie the next evening and just for an experiment I did not add anything else to the skin of the bird. When the chicken was finished cooking, I took it out of the rotisserie and let it "sit" for 5 minutes....when I went to take off the twine that was holding the bird together in the rotisserie, the wings fell completely off and the the drumstick bones fell out with "no meat" attached...it was so completely moist and tender!! My husband and kids were so impressed and I was so excited to say it was a brine recipe from "allrecipes". You have to try this recipe! I will never cook a chicken again without first "brining" it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Delicious! I would have given it five stars but it was a little too salty for our taste. Will make again but cut back to half the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Simple and really good, no fancy ingredients. This is now my only brine recipe, because it works so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Pickle Brine Chicken

A pickle juice brine results in moist, delicious grilled chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States