Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I brined four pounds of chicken thighs and drumsticks for an hour and half. I gave it a quick rinse,air dried the meat for a few minutes then rubbed a paste of equal parts garlic and onion powder,1/8 tsp of ground chili peppers and about 1/8 tsp nutmeg moistened with 2 tablespoons canola oil. Browned on all sides then baked in a 350 F oven for one hour,it proved very tender and flavorful,but I thought it a tad too salty. Maybe I'll rinse it more next time or else reduce the brining time for pieces to 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Amazing! Afterwards I seperated the skin from the chicken with my fingers and added some garlic butter under the skin and on top. Baked at 450 for 1 hr 20 mins and pure wonder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent and easy to make and use! Followed others advice and after mixing in salt and sugar in the warm water and it was dissolved, added the chicken and lots of icecubes to keep it safe from bacteria temperatures. My chicken wasn't salty at all and I let it brine in the fridge overnight. Also, it baked just right, not soggy or falling apart. Was just right! I put the 5 # chicken (covered in foil with a small opening to let out steam) in a 275*oven for 2 hours while we were at church, then when I got home turned oven to 350* and removed the foil and it was picture perfect in about 1 to 1/2 hours or so. I reduced the amount of salt my roast chicken recipe called for since this brined all night in salt water. FABULOUS! By the way, I used the Simply Lemon Baked Chicken from this website. Impressive and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I cooked a 6 lb chicken following this recipe almost exactly, and It was a huge success! The meat was juicy and fell right off the bone, I think I might try a variation of this on a turkey for Thanksgiving using a little Worcestershire sauce as well as the soy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Say goodbye to dried out chicken! I marinated thighs and breasts for 4 hours, then proceeded with a recipe I had. BBQ'd and the chicken turned out lovely - even the kids said it was good. Do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
You can vary the amount of salt to suit the time you have to brine the bird. If you want to brine it overnight, reduce the salt and soy sauce to allow for a longer brining time. The less salty the brine, the longer the bird can stay submerged without losing texture or quality. I have brined poultry in as little as two tablespoons of kosher salt dissolved into the amount of water that it takes to cover the parts or whole bird in a zip-top gallon storage bag in the frig. But, I do brine for several hours when the brine is less potent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I added this recipe to my box on july 13th of this year and I have used it at least 10 times! It's hard to fix chicken now without brining it with this recipe. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Loved this brine! The soy sauce is the key. It gives the chicken a subtle flavor that you can't identify, but definitely notice. This will be my go-to brine for poultry! Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
What a nice, simple recipe. I cut the ingredients in half, except for the salt, which I reduced a bit more. I marinated the skin on,bone in split breasts 2 hours. One BIG difference over prior marinading was poking my small paring knife into each breast10-12 places to help the marinade...425 on roast 35 minutes, then cooled a bit, then covered and placed in cooling oven...45 minutes ...and STILL they were tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
made a nice juicy chicken I thought it would be salty but it was not it works well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Pickle Brine Chicken

A pickle juice brine results in moist, delicious grilled chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States