Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Oil doesn't do anything for a brine. Never put oil in your brine. All you need to know to make your brine your own is the ratio of salt to water. It's 1cup kosher salt per gallon or half that amount for regular table salt(1/2 cup) per gallon. This will make a pretty salty brine however so for my taste, I use half this amount when I brine my meats. You don't need to add pepper or sugar to a simple brine. You just need salt and clean water. If you do want to make a sweet brine then I suggest you use brown sugar or honey, 1 cup per gallon or to your own taste. My general brine is 1/2 cup kosher salt, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tablespoon garlic powder per gallon. It's perfectly salty, savory, and slightly sweet. My meat always comes out great. If you're going to go through the trouble, do all of your brining over night..it's always better. Depending on what I cook I might add something extra. For instance, for chicken I will add sage to the brine. Same with Turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Killian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is not a review of your "brined chicken". This is only a complain about your video site for how to make the brine. The volume of the "back-ground" music is so laud that the explanation of how to make the brine is understandable. The "back-ground" music is twice as laud as the lady making the brine explanation. please, correct this when editing this ad. Thanks walter_17786@ msn.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bartow, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Great brine. I use it all the time now. Flavorful but not overpowering. Make sure you don't use table salt. Use canning or kosher salt. I use cold water though. Everything still dissolves fine. I just don't want to warm up poultry before putting it in my cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Very juicy and tasty chicken, and not salty (and I don't rinse the chicken either). My husband was skeptical of "that thing in the bucket in the fridge" but liked the results. I then switched out the 3/4 c soy sauce for 1/2 c each lemon juice and apple cider vinegar and switched the oil with 1 c homemade BBQ sauce (recipe made with ACV, molasses, butter, garlic, onion and lots of spices for a kick). Even better BBQ'd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Royer Franks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rio Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was my first time using a brine, my chicken turned out great! Nice and juicy! I used lite soy sauce. I was a little worried about the soy sauce making it salty, but it wasn't salty at all. After roasting the skin was nice and crispy and I didn't let it sit in the fridge for 1 hour like some of the other reviewers mentioned. I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This makes for a flavorful chicken without much effort, but it's too soy sauce-y for my taste. Next time I'll try apple cider vinegar in place of the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have only recently started making a brine for turkey and chicken. This recipe was simple but it turned out great (better than the complicated turkey brine I made). I used table salt (did not see the other reviews before making the brine and I adjusted the recipe for a serving for four) and added fresh ground pepper. I let the chicken sit in the brine for four hours, rinsed it (as I was afraid it would be too salty - thank you for the review stating to do this!), and then barbecued it. It was delicious and juicy. I also added ice to cool the brine before immersing the chicken. I will definitely use this as a base for any brine in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Excellent and very easy brine! Have made this twice now for whole chicken. Once roasted in the oven, and once cooked "beer can" style on the grill. Both were moist and delish! Added my own seasoning rub to the outside after rinsing and patting dry, and both times received many compliments. I will continue to use this brine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great brine recipe! I used hot tap water so the salt and sugar would dissolve easier, then let it cool down & did 2 chickens overnight. I used a rub for brined chicken, let sit 4 hrs and put directly on bbq, & it was moist, tender & delectable! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I used this recipe exactly as indicated (except for doubling it.) It was perfect. I did not wipe the chicken down as other reviewers suggested -simply because I became rushed- and it was still perfect --not too salty. My crowd RAVED over the chicken which I had put on the grill and barbequed and finished with a homemade sauce. I will use this brine for chicken from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Pickle Brine Chicken

A pickle juice brine results in moist, delicious grilled chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States