Simple Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I used chicken stock and a mixture of half and half and light cream to make two cups. Tasted good but looks bland maybe next time I will make the bacon gremolata. Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I took this soup as a base (for amounts of milk / chicken stock etc). I roasted cauliflower and roasted red pepper (no potatoes). I also pureed it to make it super smooth (the soup was somewhat runny without the puree). I also added 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. It is so delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Great base, but I added more bouillon to taste and then threw in a few slices of American cheese just for some extra body. Also put in about 1/4 cup flour (mixed in with some milk first) to make it a little thicker. It was really good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I put the soup in the blender after if was done cooking. I added quite a bit of nutmeg, salt, and cracked pepper. I topped soup bowls off with grated Parmesan cheese. Next time, I may try adding a couple of leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shingodie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I thought it was a bit bland even with the salt and pepper, so I added some garlic powder (not sure how much - I just kept going until it was perfect!). I also did a half-cream half-milk mixture instead of the full 2 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shingodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Very simple and good soup! I did add some fresh chopped celery, a pinch of nutmeg and I did blend 3/4 of the soup for a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Recipe is good as written and I rated it as such. I have started making this recipe by blending most of the cooked veggies and stock until smooth, then I add nutmeg and about a cup of cooked cauliflower florets, carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very tasty. I used Idaho baking potatoes and doubled the quantity (2 instead of 1). This required that I add another cup of broth. I also pureed it and I think that was how the recipe was meant to be served. Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Decent soup. Maybe 3 star, but I have to just add one for simplicity. Always welcomed. And it's nice to have a semi-sohpisticated soup you can also puree for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very good, very simple recipe! I also used chicken stock because I didn't have veg. (I think chicken adds more flavour anyway). Had a large head of cauliflower and a big pot to fill, so I doubled the stock and milk. Also used 3 potatoes, and threw in half a small bunch of broccoli I wanted to use up. Blended it smooth with an immersion blender after I added the milk (when it was a bit cooler). My stock just covered all the veggies as they simmered, and when I added the milk and blended, it came out perfectly thick and creamy. Didn't need to thicken with anything. I think the blending is very important, and from the photo on this recipe, it would appear that it was? Wouldn't do it any other way. The liquid/veggie ratio is the trick with getting the right consistency to this soup, since heads of cauliflower come in such varied sizes. Adding more potatoes will always help with thickening as well. Oh, and served it with garlic-parmesan croutons on top. Yummm...my 6yr old had 2 HUGE bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States