Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Allright, I tried it! Even took a picture while it was cooking. Did stovetop, couldn't wait. I thought the oranges would overwhelm this, but it doesn't. Good base for making shredded pork for many, many things! Used to make bbq sandwiches, pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was delicous. I've never had carnitas before so was unsure what to expect. After tasting it, my husband said, "Ok. Fajitas with pork," and he continued with a third serving. Served with "Homemade Flour Tortillas," "Best Spanish Rice," Salsa II, and "Easy Guacamole." I can't wait to use the leftovers for BBQ pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Fantastic! My roast was frozen solid, so I threw it in the slow cooker whole, along with everything else. Cooked it on low for 9 hours and the result was amazing. Loved the subtle orange flavor and the bay leaf added a really great earthy tone to the meat. I shredded and then served the meat in flour tortillas with lettuce, tomato, cilantro, and a bit of plain yogurt. Will make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Excellent flavors in this meat. Served it with homemade pico de gallo, guacamole and warm tortillas, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Both the kids and the adults liked it, and I really liked how easy it was. I also used the crockpot. This will be made often at this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
So good! So easy! And as a bonus...economical. I threw the whole shoulder in the crock pot & shredded later. Note to self: next time only get 4-5 lbs.--8 lbs was way too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Ken, this is a winner, a five star! I bought that huge package from Costco that contains about 15 lbs of boneless pork shoulder. That meat is a pain in the neck to cook with because of all the fat, but it's the fat that makes it tasty, too, so I endure the misery of cutting it off. I actually cooked this according to directions in my Magnalite roaster on stovetop, and it took two batches to get the job done. For the first batch I used all the salt, and then the second batch I used half that amount. For my family, it will probably rest in between the two amounts. Otherwise, the ingredients are just perfect because one flavor doesn't outdo another, and the resulting meat is very yummy. I made a double batch of Mexican Rice II from this site to go with it, and I used the broth from the meat for half of the recipe. Next time I will use the broth for ALL of it because it makes a spectacular replacement for the chicken broth, adding a depth of flavor to the rice that can't be duplicated. Now I am glad that I saved the broth for my freezer for future uses. What a perfect recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellent! I doubled this recipe and made it in my gigantic stock pot. The only thing I would recommend to salt lightweights (like me) is to add 1/2 at the beginning and then any additional salt to taste at the end. The broth is fantastic! I strained mine through a coffee filter and froze it to used instead of chicken broth for pork chili. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is soooo good! I used a stockpot, and seared the roast on all sides first. This may or may not have been necessary, but it is just what I usually do when making a roast. This recipe was very easy to prepare, and the roast was so flavorful! Everyone went back for seconds. I used about half the amount of salt, and I cut back to one teaspoon on the cumin. After shredding the meat, I poured some of the broth over it for moisture and extra flavor. Thanks, Ken from CA, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The name of the recipe only tells half the story! This is not only simple, but delicious! I did use a crockpot (easy, peasy). And I did use a bone-in pork picnic roast (not so easy, peasy...the fat layer was a bear!). Served this with guac, cilantro-jalapeno relish, lettuce, and black beans. My kids were going back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States