Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ken from CA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I need to clarify a few things. First, carnitas are heavily seasoned but not flavored. Seasoning is basically salt but flavors mainly come from condiments. I changed out the lard for water lowering the fat content and added orange based on flavors I found in restaarants in Mexico. American tastes have added a tremendous amount of flavor enhancers(spices, chilies, etc. to the dish). You can make this into whatever you want. I prefer it crisped up in a little oil after it's shredded into chunks( and a little extra kosher salt sprinkled over it. If you want more spice add this at this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Ken, this is a winner, a five star! I bought that huge package from Costco that contains about 15 lbs of boneless pork shoulder. That meat is a pain in the neck to cook with because of all the fat, but it's the fat that makes it tasty, too, so I endure the misery of cutting it off. I actually cooked this according to directions in my Magnalite roaster on stovetop, and it took two batches to get the job done. For the first batch I used all the salt, and then the second batch I used half that amount. For my family, it will probably rest in between the two amounts. Otherwise, the ingredients are just perfect because one flavor doesn't outdo another, and the resulting meat is very yummy. I made a double batch of Mexican Rice II from this site to go with it, and I used the broth from the meat for half of the recipe. Next time I will use the broth for ALL of it because it makes a spectacular replacement for the chicken broth, adding a depth of flavor to the rice that can't be duplicated. Now I am glad that I saved the broth for my freezer for future uses. What a perfect recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Fantastic! My roast was frozen solid, so I threw it in the slow cooker whole, along with everything else. Cooked it on low for 9 hours and the result was amazing. Loved the subtle orange flavor and the bay leaf added a really great earthy tone to the meat. I shredded and then served the meat in flour tortillas with lettuce, tomato, cilantro, and a bit of plain yogurt. Will make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Unbelievable! I can hardly shred the meat without eating at least half of it! My only changes are to use limes instead of oranges (only because hubby doesn't like them) and I also throw it all in the crock pot like others have done. When I serve it, to give it the same "texture" as my favorite mexican restaurant, (without the added calories) I put meat on a sheet pan and throw in a very hot oven for just a few minutes. Gives it the crispy edges that I love. Wonderful recipe Ken- Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Wow this was awesome! My whole family loved it and it smelled wonderful while simmering! I had went online to browse lots of different ways of making this; some people simmered in lard, some peanut oil and I didn't like either of those methods so I used this recipe and was not dissapointed. I did take advice I found for adding a can of cola to the water; or you could add a can of beer. After two hours I took off the lid, took out oranges and bay leaves then turned up the heat and let the liquid cook down; it took about 15 minutes and then I let the meat brown in it's own fat... Delicious! Thanks for the awesome recipe Ken!:) Tip: wait until you've skimmed fat off top before adding all the spices... they tend to float too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
OUTSTANDING!! Did add a 1/2 bottle Bass Pale Ale beer and Chicken Stock plus little water, enough to cover pork. Also used a red onion instead of white and placed it all in a slow cooker for 3 hours. Came out sooo tender and very favorful. Served with white corn tortiillas, avacado, cilantro, sour cream, chopped roma tomatoes and homemade spanish rice. Yum!! My husband ate till it hurt, now that's says alot. Thanks so much Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
oh - my - merciful - heavens. Here's what happened. I got a deal on a bone - in shoulder. Over twelve lbs. I really do not like to fool with great big pieces of meat. Trust me, it was worth it. It's probably 30 mins away from removing from the oven. My daughter and I couldn't resist (I mean, the SMELL is amazing) So when I went to turn it, we picked off some done parts and threw them in the skillet with onions and peppers. We ate this on homemade tortillas with cheese. (I'm stuffed) It will have taken it 6 hrs. and 15 minutes at 325. I cut the yucky stuff off. Cut the oranges, onion and 1 lime in the bottom of my roasting pan ( I would have thrown the bay leaves in here, but I didn't have any.) I made a rub of the kosher salt (and yes, there is a huge difference. It will be too salty with table salt), cumin, garlic and peppercorns. I turned it a couple of hours after sticking it in. Before it all fell apart, I got the fruit and most of the onion and pepper corns out of the broth and added another cup of water. It wasn't quite totally off the bone last time I checked, but it had been shredded into the flavorful broth and I'm looking forward to enjoying this for quite awhile. Thanks, Ken. AWESOME recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was on my menu for new recipe night and is now going into my favorites! The only thing I did different was, after I shredded the meat I placed in a skillet with a bit of oil to "crisp" up some of the meat. I then added some of the broth back to the meat to keep it moist. Served with Mexican Rice II and fresh guac. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
LOVED it!!! I used pork sirloin because that was what I had. Threw everything into the crock pot on low for 9 hours. Shredded beautifully. This is going to be a regular supper here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was delicous. I've never had carnitas before so was unsure what to expect. After tasting it, my husband said, "Ok. Fajitas with pork," and he continued with a third serving. Served with "Homemade Flour Tortillas," "Best Spanish Rice," Salsa II, and "Easy Guacamole." I can't wait to use the leftovers for BBQ pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States