Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
i was skeptical about the oranges, but went with it. glad i did! i didn't cut up my roast, and halved the kosher salt and just put it in the crock pot all day. my family really enjoyed this for taco meat. i wasn't crazy about the orange flavor when turning the leftovers into bbq sandwiches, but my hubby thought it was great and the kiddos ate it up, so all in all great recipe. it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeebee
Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious! I halved the recipe. I subbed some of the cumin for whole coriander. I used a cup of beer, and the rest water to cover the pork mixture. I let it slow-cook in the crock-pot for roughly 6 hours. I've never had carnitas before (I'm not reall a fan of Mexican cuisine) and I have to say I will be making these again! The orange does something magical to the meat. When it was done and shredded, I chose to crisp it up in a tiny smidgen of oil then combined it with some "Best Spanish Rice" I'd prepared to serve with it. The meal wasn't overly saucy or highly seasoned, but it was very good. My toddler ate two little bowls full! This would be great in tortillas too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
OMG, so good! Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Soooo delicious! I followed the directions except used a pork loin added some fajita seasoning and cut back on the salt. Made these into tacos with onion, cilantro and lime. Boyfriend was eating these up faster than I could put the tacos together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These.Were.Awesome! The flavor was out of this world amazing and the whole family raved about them having multiple servings each! I didn't change a single thing with the original recipe (ingredients wise) although I only had half the meat the recipe called for so I simply halved the recipe to fit the amount I had. I also just threw everything into the crockpot minus the water because my pork was frozen. Cooked on low for 8 hours. Shredded it and served in a whole wheat tortilla with lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, sour cream, and salsa verde. They were delicious! Thanks Ken for the delicious new recipe. We will definitely be making this again...very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Best I have ever had. I changed the recipe slightly. I added the following: 1) One (1) hatch pepper with seeds removed and cut into 1" sections 2) One (1) red bell pepper cut into long strips 1/2" wide. I used coarse gound pepper (11/2 teaspoon) as I did not have peppercorns. Cooked it in the oven at 250 degrees for 3 hours with the lid (baking dish)on and cooked it one (1) additional hour at 325 degrees with the lid off. FANTASTIC!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegasguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This recipe, as is, is incredible. It makes the house smell amazing, and is highly adaptable to the meal you want to make, whether that's fresh tacos or a platter with black beans and rice. I've even kept it warm in a crock pot as part of the buffet at a party. People are amazed by the intense flavor, yet the recipe is so simple. Placing the shredded meat under the broiler for a brief period is a good method to crisp up the edges, if you want to serve it that way. The recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
OMGosh~This is absolutely as good as everyone has said. Even if you don't care for orange flavor, this is so mild it just is in the background! Thanks for an easy, peasy recipe, Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanon K ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cynthiana, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I changed this recipe a bit and it turned out great! I used what we have on hand; pork tenderloin. I placed everything in the crockpot and cooked 4 hours on high and 3 on low because the meat was frozen. If it was thawed I would do 8 hours on low. I added chicken broth and cut back the salt a bit. After it was fully cooked I let it cool and shredded the meat. Then add some oil to a pan and fried up the shredded meat for about 10 min. or until you get the desired crispiness. I also spooned in some of the broth from the crockpot to help keep it moist. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by euphgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States