Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was just ok for me (lol I sound like Randy on American Idol!) The BF liked it, but I think my oranges were too big (I used two like the recipe calls for, but they were pretty big, I probably should have just used one), I think I would have liked a less citrus flavor and more cumin. HOWEVER, my hunk of meat was pretty lean, and it seemed to dry out some, so that may have also been part of why I wasn't thrilled with them. Will try them again though. Thanks Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was so easy to make! I just threw everything in a crockpot and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Made this recipe and followed all the directions...almost. Did not add bay leaves or black peppercorns, but the meat came out so good! I will make again for sure. It was very easy with great flavor. I did drain the meat to brown with a little olive oil and made tacos with homemade guacamole. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tawni Miller
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was really easy and delicious! I would probably use less salt next time, however. It makes a lot...great for burritos as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawni Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
So simple! Made it for a "taco bar" night with the family and had never made it before...everyone raved over it! I personally would have liked a little more "mexican" flavor to it, but I guess that's what all the fixin's are for anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These were really good! I was sad I didn't have more left over lol. I really enjoyed the slight bitterness that the orange peel added. I also cooked this is a crock pot on low for about 8 hours, because I do not own a dutch oven. I used about 1.5 lbs of pork loin because it was what I had on hand, so which means I halved the recipe but I still used two Bay leaves, it added nice earthy flavor. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandalulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. For people like me who aren't salt lovers- you may want to cut the salt a little. Overall, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
OUTSTANDING!! Did add a 1/2 bottle Bass Pale Ale beer and Chicken Stock plus little water, enough to cover pork. Also used a red onion instead of white and placed it all in a slow cooker for 3 hours. Came out sooo tender and very favorful. Served with white corn tortiillas, avacado, cilantro, sour cream, chopped roma tomatoes and homemade spanish rice. Yum!! My husband ate till it hurt, now that's says alot. Thanks so much Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Wow. I cant believe I waited so long to try this! It is amazing. I served this with a homemade salsa verde. The broth was so yummy that I strained it and will probably use it to make rice or for a tortilla soup. I will be making this often. I just wish I had made more! Thanks Ken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These carnitas are great. After shredding, I like to fry in oil with sliced jalapenos. We serve in corn tortillas with chopped onion, cilantro and avocado. Refried Beans Without the Refry is a great side dish for these carnitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States