Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Made this recipe and followed all the directions...almost. Did not add bay leaves or black peppercorns, but the meat came out so good! I will make again for sure. It was very easy with great flavor. I did drain the meat to brown with a little olive oil and made tacos with homemade guacamole. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tawni Miller
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was really easy and delicious! I would probably use less salt next time, however. It makes a lot...great for burritos as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawni Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
So simple! Made it for a "taco bar" night with the family and had never made it before...everyone raved over it! I personally would have liked a little more "mexican" flavor to it, but I guess that's what all the fixin's are for anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These were really good! I was sad I didn't have more left over lol. I really enjoyed the slight bitterness that the orange peel added. I also cooked this is a crock pot on low for about 8 hours, because I do not own a dutch oven. I used about 1.5 lbs of pork loin because it was what I had on hand, so which means I halved the recipe but I still used two Bay leaves, it added nice earthy flavor. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandalulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. For people like me who aren't salt lovers- you may want to cut the salt a little. Overall, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
OUTSTANDING!! Did add a 1/2 bottle Bass Pale Ale beer and Chicken Stock plus little water, enough to cover pork. Also used a red onion instead of white and placed it all in a slow cooker for 3 hours. Came out sooo tender and very favorful. Served with white corn tortiillas, avacado, cilantro, sour cream, chopped roma tomatoes and homemade spanish rice. Yum!! My husband ate till it hurt, now that's says alot. Thanks so much Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Wow. I cant believe I waited so long to try this! It is amazing. I served this with a homemade salsa verde. The broth was so yummy that I strained it and will probably use it to make rice or for a tortilla soup. I will be making this often. I just wish I had made more! Thanks Ken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These carnitas are great. After shredding, I like to fry in oil with sliced jalapenos. We serve in corn tortillas with chopped onion, cilantro and avocado. Refried Beans Without the Refry is a great side dish for these carnitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe proves that sometimes simplicity IS best. Out of necessity I adapted this for the slow cooker and in less than 8 hours, the crew and I were feasting on pure, unadulterated porky goodness. Of course, some of us were more refined and ate these carnitas wrapped in a tortilla along with a lightly dressed taco slaw. Thank you, Ken from CA, for a deliciously new New Year tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
They were amazing! I did substitute a lemon for one of the oranges and I didn't have whole peppercorns so I used ground ones, but the result was still outstanding! I put the shredded pork under the broiler for a few minutes, which gets them nice and crispy and makes them taste like authentic carnitas (I'm originally from Mexico). I serve them on corn tortillas with chopped fresh onion and cilantro, plus a splash of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States