Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These.Were.Awesome! The flavor was out of this world amazing and the whole family raved about them having multiple servings each! I didn't change a single thing with the original recipe (ingredients wise) although I only had half the meat the recipe called for so I simply halved the recipe to fit the amount I had. I also just threw everything into the crockpot minus the water because my pork was frozen. Cooked on low for 8 hours. Shredded it and served in a whole wheat tortilla with lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, sour cream, and salsa verde. They were delicious! Thanks Ken for the delicious new recipe. We will definitely be making this again...very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Best I have ever had. I changed the recipe slightly. I added the following: 1) One (1) hatch pepper with seeds removed and cut into 1" sections 2) One (1) red bell pepper cut into long strips 1/2" wide. I used coarse gound pepper (11/2 teaspoon) as I did not have peppercorns. Cooked it in the oven at 250 degrees for 3 hours with the lid (baking dish)on and cooked it one (1) additional hour at 325 degrees with the lid off. FANTASTIC!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegasguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This recipe, as is, is incredible. It makes the house smell amazing, and is highly adaptable to the meal you want to make, whether that's fresh tacos or a platter with black beans and rice. I've even kept it warm in a crock pot as part of the buffet at a party. People are amazed by the intense flavor, yet the recipe is so simple. Placing the shredded meat under the broiler for a brief period is a good method to crisp up the edges, if you want to serve it that way. The recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
OMGosh~This is absolutely as good as everyone has said. Even if you don't care for orange flavor, this is so mild it just is in the background! Thanks for an easy, peasy recipe, Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanon K ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cynthiana, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I changed this recipe a bit and it turned out great! I used what we have on hand; pork tenderloin. I placed everything in the crockpot and cooked 4 hours on high and 3 on low because the meat was frozen. If it was thawed I would do 8 hours on low. I added chicken broth and cut back the salt a bit. After it was fully cooked I let it cool and shredded the meat. Then add some oil to a pan and fried up the shredded meat for about 10 min. or until you get the desired crispiness. I also spooned in some of the broth from the crockpot to help keep it moist. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by euphgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
So just started cooking this today and it smells absolutely delicious!! Ken you have some pretty amazing recipes on here. Thanks for sharing so my family can enjoy!! I served with some homemade pinto beans and mexican rice..I used this exact recipe to the tee..and I hope it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Delicious even though I used a pork loin and cooked it for 6-8hours. My only change for next time will be to use a lot less salt. I'm not used to eating anything that salty! (hence 4, not 5 stars) I will probably cut the salt in half or by 2/3. The orange, cumin and bay leaf really come through nicely, but not overtly once finished. Also, I would use more more onion (to serve with the meat), a little low sodium vegetable or chicken stock, and take out the oranges after a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Outstanding! Used a boneless shoulder arm roast and a slow cooker. Didn't cut it up before hand, but instead roughly shredded it after. Other than that, used recipe as is. No need to change or adjust ingredients at all. (And Kosher salt is a must; don't use table salt.) I've tried other Carnitas recipes but this has the most authentic taste. I put mine in a pan under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp up the edges and used a little of the broth that it made to keep it moist (as some other users have). So delicious, Ken! This will be a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This makes the best pulled pork EVER! Only recipe I use now. So good, thank you for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States