Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was extremely easy to make and the results were excellent! When it came to seasoning, I did not measure the salt, cumin or peppercorns, just added per my taste. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awesome Erica!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I've made this recipe several times now and it's a keeper just as it is. For my taste, I cut back just a little on the salt and peppercorns. That's just me, the charming and lovely girlfriend prefers the original recipe. Substituting a can of cola for some of the water worked for me once, giving it some bubbling flourish in the kitchen for the benefit of anyone watching. It is so tender, so much like what we get at SoCal taco shops. Crisping the finished meat under the broiler for 3-4 minutes is a nice finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Ken you have really outdone yourself with this. The recipe was absolutely delicious! We're having them again tonight!! Thanks so much for your creativity and sharing this delightful recipe! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I love carnitas and these were very good. I did not have any oranges so I used 4 T. orange juice concentrate (I doubled the recipe because I had a 7 lb. roast) & I cooked it in the crockpot with very little water added. After it was done, I strained the juice from the meat and let it set overnight and skimmed the grease from the top. I used the broth to make the Mexican Rice II as someone else suggested (which was also very good). I sauted a quartered onion and some halved jalapeno's in some oil and served it along side rice, pork, refried black beans and flour shells. This is one of my favorite ways to cook pork because the meat can be used in so many ways...BBQ pork sandwiches, burritos, tacos etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great recipe; couldn't be easier! This is my go to recipe when I get a great deal on pork. Thanks for sharing, Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Grabbed the paprika instead of the cumin - I think I invented Hungarian carnitas; HOWEVER, the flavor rocked and can't wait to try them with the correct spices! Old and befuddled, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! I changed up the spices a bit, threw in cilantro, bell pepper, serrano pepper. I too crisp it up in an iron skillet with a little bit of oil. Serve it on corn torillas with pico, more fresh cilantro, sour cream and avocado. The broth is fabulous to use in gumbo! I have many containers of it in the freezer! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Great for tacos, burritos, whatever. And easy! (Except for chopping up the pork shoulder.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Good. Easy. Nice when you want a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I was craving carnitas and didn't want to fight the cliche crowds, on Cinco de Mayo. This was AMAZING!!! I saved the broth, thickened it with a tablespoon of corn starch, brought it to a boil, and spooned a bit over the meat....after i shredded it, and placed it under the broiler for about 5 mins, to crisp the edges. I have to say, this may be WAY better than what I remember having in the restaurants...and I live in Northern California, so Mexican food is pretty accessible here. I followed the recipe exactly (but added one extra orange, because mine were small), my pork shoulder was approx 3.15lbs, and there were only 2 of us...we have enough for approx 1.5 more dinners for the 2 of us. My husband had 3 small soft tortillas as tacos and I just had meat. Maybe it shrinks....maybe we eat a lot. But it was AMAZING!! Thank you so much for sharing!! :) Feliz Cinco de Mayo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allrecipefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States