Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
The pork was excellent after it had been simmering for 1-1/2 hours. After it cooled in the broth for an hour, it turned incredibly salty. I would recommend skipping that last part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I juiced my oranges and threw in the peels. I also added 1/2 cup lime juice and some chili powder. I brought covered the rest with water and brought to a boil and cooked uncovered for 2 hours on low. Then brought up to medium and let the meat fry in its own fat. There will be some water left but it will dissolve give it about 30 to 45 min. You might have to take out some liquid like i did but reserve it in case you need to add it back. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is the bomb! I have already made this 3 times! As others, I read a lot of the reviews and went with using limes instead of the oranges. I also cut back on the Kosher Salt. I use chicken broth in place of the water. Cooked in my dutch oven on my stove top as directed. Any left overs get frozen to use for camping when in need of a quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Wow! This was outstanding. I started with frozen pork loin, threw in a crock pot with all the ingredients sans peppercorn (don't like pepper) but added a T of oregano. I squeezed the juice out of one orange and threw the other in the pot cut up as directed. After 8 hours on low, it was cooked perfectly. I removed and shred up the pork and then placed it into a skillet with a little hot oil and turned it occasionally to crisp up a fair amount of it. Topped it with some of the juice from the crock pot and voila! So good, you'll amaze yourself! The crispy parts were the best so be sure to leave it in the skillet a decent length of time. We served with flour tortillas and typical taco toppings but the pork is so good, I could've eaten it straight out of the skillet with my fingers and might've gobbled it all but my husband and teen son were begging to share. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this. My two year old chowed on it, and he has been stubborn about eating anything lately. It was very moist and flavorful. The reason I give it four instead of five stars is because it was too salty. I used table salt instead of Kosher salt, and of course AFTER I cooked it I read a review informing me that table salt would taste too salty. I guess it's sort of my fault, but it would have been great if that advice was somewhere in the recipe. When I realized how salty it was, midway through cooking, I scooped out some of the broth, though it pained me to remove all of that other flavor, and I just added plain water. I also added a little brown sugar because sweet and salt complement each other. I added just enough to cut the salty flavor some, but not enough to make it taste sweet. This salvaged it and the meat tasted perfect. Other adjustments I made were adding cayenne and fresh cilantro, and when it was cooked through I poured out most of the broth and put it in the oven for a few minutes to crisp up the edges, then I pulled the pork. I also made a gravy for it with a roux and some reserved broth. That was way too salty as well, so I had to add more water and sugar. It was awesome. That gravy was a total experiment and I was fully prepared for it to fail, but it was really good. Served with slices of avocado and tomato Anyway, if you're like me and you don't have Kosher salt on hand, then use less table salt than you would if you had Kosher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Livoli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I took a reviewers idea to use orange juice instead of water. I forgot to put the quartered oranges in the pot, but I didn't miss it. The last half hour, I then put in the aromatics. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Think I'll stick to my traditional Carnitas recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I read all the reviews good and bad, yes All ! it was my first time cooking this and I already had concerns about the amount of salt and whether the orange rinds would make the meat bitter. BUT it turned out delicious! I adjusted it for our taste as follows: fOR 2.5 pounds meat (I did not cut in pieces) I added 1 scant tablespoon salt and 1/3 teaspoon cumin and 1 small orange. I cooked for exactly 3 hours and it was delicious and melt in your mouth tender! I will freeze the extra portions for tacos enchiladas, sandwiches and omelets. Totally Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemonster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I did this in the crockpot!! It was fabulous!!! Just like the carnitas at my favorite Mexican restaurant!!! Thanks for sharing Ken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Herbicek Hess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Harbor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Instead of using water to braise the meat, I used about 3 cups of freshly squeezed orange juice. I used way less salt and cumin than it called for. Cut it back to about 2 tsp. of salt and 1 tsp. of cumin. I also omitted the whole black peppercorns and just used freshly ground black pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States