Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
It is a little on the salty side, and it is not carnitas. Flavor is OK if you don't call it carnitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Reduce salt by half but otherwise amazing. I love how flexible this meat is. I can use it during the week for tacos and then for fried rice. I like making it on a Sunday and enjoy it throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Made this in the crock pot and we all loved it! We will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Great Great Great. Perfet as written. My only question is---can you make a beef roast the same way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Ohhhh, Mama! DH said "Honey, this is a keeper!". Didn't end up yielding the full amount, but that's because pieces kept falling into my mouth. It's not my fault! I swear! But my DH even cleaned up after dinner to show his appreciation. Thanks, Ken! (I hate clean up) BTW, I made this recipe following Ken's recipe exactly, as that's how I feel it should be done, not on somebody's tweaked version. 12/2/14 - Third time around on this recipe; again, making according to Ken's recipe, and now I'm mad at Ken. Just got a "new" vehicle, which my husband was SUPPOSED to register today so I can drive it. Well, he found out we were having Ken's carnita's tonight, and decided he's coming straight home for dinner. Bad Ken, for such a great recipe. And bad me for telling my husband what we were having for dinner. BTW, peeps, use a cheesecloth or other cooking bag in which to place your bay leaves and peppercorn. Makes life easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I must have made a mistake. Since the recipe called for 2 oranges quartered instead of 2 peeled oranges I threw the quartered oranges in peel and all. The flavor of the orange peel was over powering in some of the meat. I also used my pressure cooker, which may have compounded the issue. Did anyone else do this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blountstown, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was so simple and yet so great. My family and I loved it! I used chicken broth and half of a lager beer for liquid and I cooked it in the crock pot on high for about 4 hours. After cooking I sauteed mushrooms and onions and then added the shredded pork. Added some spices such as chili powder and cayenne. One of the best recipes I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Wonderful. Grace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Here another way to cook the pork ... preheat oven to 250 then cut slit at different points -top, side and bottom then place whole clove of garlic into slit rub with olive oil with salt and pepper all over place in large baking dish- fat side up then cover with foil cook for 10 hours. If you a little crisp turn oven to 350 put some of shredded pork on baking dish for a couple of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is good, but to reduce fat more, I use pork sirloin roast which is much leaner than pork shoulder. Also I cook it in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States