Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Great Great Great. Perfet as written. My only question is---can you make a beef roast the same way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Ohhhh, Mama! DH said "Honey, this is a keeper!". Didn't end up yielding the full amount, but that's because pieces kept falling into my mouth. It's not my fault! I swear! But my DH even cleaned up after dinner to show his appreciation. Thanks, Ken! (I hate clean up) BTW, I made this recipe following Ken's recipe exactly, as that's how I feel it should be done, not on somebody's tweaked version. 12/2/14 - Third time around on this recipe; again, making according to Ken's recipe, and now I'm mad at Ken. Just got a "new" vehicle, which my husband was SUPPOSED to register today so I can drive it. Well, he found out we were having Ken's carnita's tonight, and decided he's coming straight home for dinner. Bad Ken, for such a great recipe. And bad me for telling my husband what we were having for dinner. BTW, peeps, use a cheesecloth or other cooking bag in which to place your bay leaves and peppercorn. Makes life easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I must have made a mistake. Since the recipe called for 2 oranges quartered instead of 2 peeled oranges I threw the quartered oranges in peel and all. The flavor of the orange peel was over powering in some of the meat. I also used my pressure cooker, which may have compounded the issue. Did anyone else do this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blountstown, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was so simple and yet so great. My family and I loved it! I used chicken broth and half of a lager beer for liquid and I cooked it in the crock pot on high for about 4 hours. After cooking I sauteed mushrooms and onions and then added the shredded pork. Added some spices such as chili powder and cayenne. One of the best recipes I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Wonderful. Grace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Here another way to cook the pork ... preheat oven to 250 then cut slit at different points -top, side and bottom then place whole clove of garlic into slit rub with olive oil with salt and pepper all over place in large baking dish- fat side up then cover with foil cook for 10 hours. If you a little crisp turn oven to 350 put some of shredded pork on baking dish for a couple of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is good, but to reduce fat more, I use pork sirloin roast which is much leaner than pork shoulder. Also I cook it in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
After it is boiled, split it in half and heavily dose it with garlic powder. Then bake it for a half hour before shredding. Not much more difficult, more traditional and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have tried this in the slower cooker as well. I do take one more step. I put it in the oven to get crisp. The orange juice makes all the difference in the world. Great recipe. P.S. I've also done this same recipe with beef. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I would cut the salt in half and I think 1 orange would be sufficient. I give it the 4 stars because of the reduction in salt and orange. It would otherwise be too salty and the orange flavor would be too strong. One orange will give the dish a bit of orange flavor but not intefering with the flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by williamC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States