Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This recipe is awesome and super easy! The meat has such a wonderful flavor! My whole family loved this! Thanks for the keeper recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These were extra simple since I had some shredded pork already in the freezer. I put it in a pot with the spices and let it simmer for a while. I didn't have an orange so used mango instead. Kids shoveled the pork in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Holy Guacamole! This is some fine stuff! Just kicking myself that I waited so long to make it! Only change was to cook it in my slow cooker - recipe exactly as written. Smelled fabulous and tasted even better! Made Mexican Rice II (Using broth from this) and Refried Beans w/out the Refry. Had it for breakfast, lunch and dinner over the last couple of days! And told DH I'd be content to eat it every meal from here on out!YUMMY!!! Thanks, Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was good, but probably not something that will become a regular meal in our house. I think most of the little things here and there I didn't particularly care for were due to the cut of meat rather than anything to do with the recipe or the method. I know fat is what makes meat flavourful and tender but I don't much like really fatty cuts. And it was darker in colour than I usually like pork to be. But it had nice flavour, smelled amazing while cooking, and was nice and tender. And my picky brother ate it all up (with sweet baby ray's) and said it was awesome, so you know you've got a good dish if he gobbles it up. I'd make it again, but probably with a different cut of pork and with cutting back a tad on the peppercorns, the peppery flavour came through a bit too strong for me. But pretty good! I see how this gets rave reviews: easy, cheap and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was my first time making carnitas and wanted something that was kid-friendly and easy to prepare. Got a winner here!!! My daughter loved it so much she kept coming back in the kitchen to taste while I was shredding it. She didn't want any other dressings on it, but just a tad bit of sour cream. Usually it's packed with sour cream and cheese or use bbq sauce because it was so tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Skoo
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Another home run for Ken! Dee-licious. I had a 2 lb pork butt (which Ken kindly informed me was the same as shoulder) and threw in the bone as well when cooking. I halved the salt because I had less meat but kept everything else the same. Served with Tomatillo Guacamole (from this site) and took Ken's recommendation of frying it in a bit of oil. Man was it delicious. I made plans to make BBQ buns with the leftovers but we loved it so much in tacos we might just do that again! THANKS KEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Thanks ken! I finally tried this and am glad I did. I used it on chicken not pork, but it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was awesome! I got many compliments from the gallery.. I have compared this to carnitas that I've ordered from a few restaurants, and this is much tastier. I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is the 2nd time I have made this. As CookingBug suggested I place the whole frozen roast in my crock pot and cook it overnight on low around 10 hrs. I also only use 1 orange and it still is very flavorful. I portion the cooked pork in containers and freeze them for easy and inexpensive meals. Can't wait for tacos tonight and bbq pork pizza, tamale casserole, and pozole for future dinners. I will be making this often. Thanks Ken :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Yummy! I cooked mine in the pressure cooker, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States