Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Love it. I followed the recipe as it is and my pork turned out very tender and tasty! My husband and my kids love this recipe. I am saving it in my Recipe Box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was so great. The oranges made such a nice addition. I have to admit I cooked two pork shoulders the same day and, although I tested this one (alot;), I froze this one but I'm convinced the flavours will be even better:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Excellent recipe as is! Sauteed the meat with some onions & green peppers and served with Spanish Rice, using the pork broth in the rice. The other half is shredded up, sauteed with onions, peppers & mushrooms and added chipotle tabasco sauce and used that as a filling for enchiladas. This is a tender, flavorful meat that can be seasoned as you please in any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Family loved them, but a little bland to me. Thank you for sharing a simple and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I have to tell you I have been wanting to make this for some time with the reviews everyone was giving this, but for some reason it scared me to make it. Now after the finished product...I don't know why I was scared at all. It didn't smell that pleasing to me in the beginning. But it was totally out of this world good with flavor and tenderness. My commissary didn't have trimmed pork shouled..it was either bone in or out...So I choose out. And it had a lot of fat on it...I left it the way it was, and the only thing I did different just because of a time issue, was I put it all in the crockpot and let it cook all day. And it turned out great, then I had to removed all the fat....that part wasn't cool but it was totally delicious and I discarded everything but the meat...I will make this again because the meat was melt in your mouth gooood!!! Thanks KEN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
The recipe provided here is great! The only changes I make are to 1) brown the meat before simmering, 2) use only 1 tbsp salt, and 3) shred the meat and put it in a pan on med-hi for 5-10 minutes before serving. Also, if I'm eating these without sour cream or other fixings, I like to add bbq sauce to the final product. Generally, I find that carnitas recipes are very forgiving; excepting cumin, all of the flavorings are easily substituted. For instance, if you don't have oranges, no problem! Add orange juice, or limes, or whatever strikes your fancy to the broth and the final product will still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
DH loved this and rates it a high 5. I liked it, would have rated it a 4 myself. Slight changes-I halved the recipe, made it in a 2-quart crockpot, using cubed frozen pork, no water, used 2 garlic cloves instead of 3 (personal taste). Cooked it on "high" for 2 hours, then on "low" for one. Shredded the pork and returned it to the juice that formed in the crockpot for another hour. We don't eat much pork, but DH is already requesting I make this again. Thanks for the recipe, Ken. 8/29 Used the leftover pork & rice to make pork enchiladas-the taste is even better the second day, and I have a new "taste" for work. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made this in the crock pot and it was very easy and delicious. I do think it calls for too much salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Excellent. Juiced 1 orange first but kept the skins in the pot for flavor, added 2 Tbs of lime juice, 1 Tbs oregano, some red pepper flakes, and freshly cracked peppercorns. Only used 2 cups of water. Made it with a dutch oven; first simmer on stove top and then into a 375 F oven for 2 hrs. Remove the meat and under grill to brown and crisp. The strained broth is worth keeping; great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States