Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Very easy to put together and such a tasty, versatile meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I usually make a double batch of this using a nine pound shoulder roast, bone-in. Peeling the oranges before boiling makes picking through the meat much easier later, as does trimming off the outside layer of skin and fat (save those pieces to grind later for sausages). For best results, pan fry this in batches in vegetable oil so the meat crisps up beautifully; I then prefer to serve it in burritos with sour cream, black beans, rice and fruit salsa. Setting the broth aside and reducing it over medium heat makes for a delicious liquid in which to steam the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Ursini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Excellent recipe!! I made this with some steaks instead of the pork and it was amazing! Kids and husband were all impressed. After I shredded the meat, I put it in a pan on broil for about 10 minutes. I rotated the pan and drizzled the juices over the meat to keep it moist. I removed the orange slices about 2/3 of the way thru the simmering process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used one orange and two key limes. The citrus added a subtle but important flavor. Be careful with the salt that you use -- if you only have table salt, use half the amount (1/8 cup). My cut of pork included the bone. After cutting off the majority of the meat, I included it in the slow cooker with all the rest. Probably helped with the flavor. Thanks to the reviewer that suggested putting the meat in a very hot oven for a few minutes just before serving. Loved the crispy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Phenomenal! I popped everything in the slow cooker (including a frozen hunk of pork shoulder). I only had one orange so I substituted several calamansi fruits for the other orange. So good! My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I followed CookinBug's lead with the slow cooker. I was still able to trim the meat after it was cooked, and boy, was it tender! I served it with flour tortillas, avocado, tomato, and a splash of lime juice. The next day I pan-fried the leftovers and my kids gobbled it up almost before the table was set. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have made several SLIGHT modifications to this recipe over the last year or so that I have used it...but not many. You try it way it's shown and then play your own "game" with it. Either way...you shall not be disappointed. Worth the effort of beating up on that pork butt/shoulder!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Jt Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Pretty good when you eat right away, but we had leftovers & froze for a couple more meals. We ate one of those last night & it wasn't that great. I think I'll stick with the Slow Cooker Carnitas from now on unless I reduce the recipe even more from 5 servings to maybe 2 or 3. Won't freeze this again & don't know if we'll even be able to use the others in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
We used this recipe for a "drive-thru dinner" fund raiser. Instead of cutting the meat and putting it in a dutch oven, we put the whole pork roasts in large pans. We then put water about half way up, covered, and cooked at 350o for 2 hours. They came out perfect. Although we gave an option of salsa or bbg sauce, the meat really did not need it. The flavor was great. My boyfriend who is picky made sure I saved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Thanks, Ken. This is a winner. And affordable! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States