Simple Caramel Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I think I will try with pineapple next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sylviabg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Well.. I read this recipe and thought, "It sounds like plain pork chops with plain cooked apples on top." And that's nearly what it was like. I made it again and tweaked it quite a bit. I salted and peppered the pork chops before browning them, which boosted their flavor. I also wasn't crazy about the texture of the chops right against the apples with no buffer, so I ended up topping the chops with a quick bread stuffing (sweat 1/4 cup each minced onion and celery in 2/3 stick butter, add 1 torn loaf cuban bread, 1/2 tsp. thyme and rosemary, and 1 cup chicken stock), then topped the chops AND stuffing with apples and pecans. As written, I just wasn't crazy about the recipe (sorry!), but I would make it again with these tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These are so good. I doubled the recipe and then tripled the sauce and I'm glad I did cuz the family loved them and we had plenty of sauce to go around. I used a mix of apples from granny smith, macintosh and red delicious cuz I wanted to use up the apples I already had and it was great. Served it with white rice and it was delicious. The rice just soaked up all that yummy sauce. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Wow I REALLY wanted to like this but just didn't. WAY too sweet. Smelled great but my husband actually asked "are you cooking sugar? smells like it." The sauce would be GREAT on ice cream... not so much on pork from what we tasted. Sorry I hate to give not so positive reviews. I'm sure a lot of my recipies need more sugar for some... but wow, this was SO sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These were soooooo good. I did quadruple the sauce with the same amount of apples. Even with that there was enough, not too much for our tastes: as written will probably just kind of glaze the meat. I used Gala apples which I had on hand, we liked it just fine. I will definitely make these again, thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
So good I can hardly wait to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaEve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blair, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Herman, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were delicious. Everyone loved them. I was iffy about caramel apple and pork, but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovely lil chef
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was definitley worth saving! My first time making it and the family loved it! This will be definitely be placed in rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Letohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent! Simple to make and tasted fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
You need to double or triple the sauce. Very good and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleyD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States