Simple Cajun Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Oops, added previous comment on the wrong recipe- used this Cajun recipe in the Lucky blackeye pea recipe. Sorry for the confusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I think it should be 2 & a half teaspoonsnot tablespoons because the meat turned out really salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have no idea how authentic this is, but I was in a pinch since I had a recipe that called for cajun seasoning and I never buy pre-mixed spices. Worked very well in the recipe! I can definitely see how some garlic and onion powders would have worked well in this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I scaled this down since I only needed a couple of tbs. and although I liked it, I had to add some garlic and onion powder. It doesn't taste right without those. It was simple and quick to make, though. Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I used this seasoning for Jambalaya and the dish came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Great recipe, I love being able to adjust the salt level to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This worked perfectly for me. I never buy the spice mixes - prefer to put them together myself. Not an expert on Cajun cooking but this worked for me for Jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I added the onion powder, garlic powder and celery seed as suggested, and it works really well in recipes. I personally like my food less spicy, so instead of 1 tablespoon of everything after the salt and oregano, I used one teaspoon, including the recommended additions, which was fine for me. Other family members would like it much spicier, but...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Thanks you saved me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Having never made or used any type of cajun seasoning before, I was unsure of what to expect. While this was a very spicy mix, it worked well in the Jambalaya dish that I made and I have no complaints. My only recommendation would maybe be to halve the recipe. This makes A LOT - especially if you don't use this blend often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Make-Ahead Mamas

Join this group of busy moms as they get together to prepare make-ahead meals.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States