Simple Buttermilk Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Great tasting, easy, quick to make.. Added cinnamon and brown sugar to the topping. Grand kids loved it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe was awesome! Nice and moist and like others have said, even better the next day! I brought some in for my co-workers and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I really enjoyed this cake. I needed to use up some buttermilk and this turned out to be a nice, moist cake. Like others say in other reviews, this is a great base recipe that leaves room for creativity. I made it as is for a test run, but I'll try it again with some adjustments later for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Great taste, mild and moist. I added about 2 tsp. of ground cinnamon to the topping and loved it. I hear it's good the second day.... although I'm not sure it will last that long in my house! I'm thinking this is a keeper... as is, or as a base to add other ingredients to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Great cake! Not very sweet and with a nice taste from the buttermilk . First time I made it exactly like the recipe, and we loved. The second time I used a couple of lonely apples chopped and a little nutmeg (could be great with cinnamon too,but we are not fans of it) and turned up very good . I'm thinking about oranges and cranberries for the next one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Tasted great warm from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I usually pick recipes with a ton of reviews but am glad I took a chance with this one. The cake is moist, just sweet enough, and versatile. You can have it with coffee, fruit, ice cream, alone, whatever! I've eaten almost the half the pan in two days. Oops. Tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I used this recipe as a base then added my own flair to it. I replaced the butter with a honey butter recipe using lavender honey, which made this coffee cake to DIE for! Not to mention makes the crumb topping even more delicious. Great recipe overall and will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is easy to make and produces my favorite type of cake, light and not too sweet. I was unimpressed with the crumb topping so in the future I will not reserve anything and make my own streusel. Thanks, Amy.....4/6/13 edit. I just read how harsh my comment sounded about the topping, not what I intended at all. It is an easy change and in no way detracts from the cake itself. I WAS impressed by how moist and flavorful this cake is the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Just as described by Amy, this coffee cake is simple and wonderful. The recipe leaves room for individualization by each cook. I will try spices next time, cinnamon and nutmeg, and perhaps add fresh fruit as the season progresses. Very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States