Simple Buttermilk Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
this is a yummy cake. I added Victorian Epicure apple pie spice and it tastes like apple pie. going to try the ginger bread season next time. thus would taste good served with whip cream. you could also add chocolate chips or any variety of baking chips to it. I think the possibilities are endless with this recipe. I think I'm even going to try substituting the 1/4 cup flour for Cocoa next time. So many ideas to try with this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martensville, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warman, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Yummy! Super easy and came out great. I did add my own brown sugar crumb topping. Family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelique76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
As is, this cake tastes simply wonderful without any fru fru. Sometimes we want a simple cake without frosting or a million spices/ingredients. I don't care for "crumb topping" so I just combined it all and it was just fine. I highly suggest reading the review by Lorraine Hussain, written on September 16, 2014. The addition of almond flour/meal and almond extract is in the perfect proportions and tastes so comforting. In addition to Lorraine's suggestions, I sprinkled sliced almonds over the top before baking-delish! This is a great basic recipe; easily tweaked to get the flavor you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskatransplanted
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great recipe! This is a coffee cake that's rather sweet, or heavy on the "cake." It's easy to make and we rarely have any leftovers. If you don't have buttermilk, add 1 tablespoon lemon juice to a cup of milk and let it sit while you mix the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This cake was ok but I have to admit being disappointed in it. Its simple enough to make for sure but theres no flavor to it - and thats with me adding cinnamon to the batter and topping. And it cooked alot faster than the 35 minutes as well. After roughly 20 minutes I could already smell it and I knew it was close to being done. I won't be throwing it out - it will get eaten - but I highly doubt I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I tried it but I replaced 1/4 cup of flour with 3/4 cup of ground almonds and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract.I did not put the crumble on top ,when it was still warm from the oven I brushed the top with 2 tablespoons of honey as a glaze. It was a hit with my family and friends and goes down a treat with a cup of coffee or tea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Hussain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great coffee cake. I made this this morning because my in laws came over for coffee. For the topping, I added cinnamon, brown sugar, and cocoa powder. I also substituted brown sugar for half the white sugar. With the changes I made, this recipe gets five stars. My in laws are very impressed with it. As am I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I really liked the recipe bc it is easy and you do not need to cream the butter. The cake is quite plain and was done in 30 minutes. Even then it was a little dry. I think that it needs fruit or cinnamon or a little something to bump it up. Next time I might add a layer of jam or some fresh fruit. Very good though if you are into simple yumminess- which I am sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Super simple and excellent recipe. The only adjustment I made was substituting 1 cup of almond flour because I had it on hand. I was surprised at how moist it was. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Simple and great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States