Simple Buttermilk Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I tried it but I replaced 1/4 cup of flour with 3/4 cup of ground almonds and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract.I did not put the crumble on top ,when it was still warm from the oven I brushed the top with 2 tablespoons of honey as a glaze. It was a hit with my family and friends and goes down a treat with a cup of coffee or tea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Hussain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great coffee cake. I made this this morning because my in laws came over for coffee. For the topping, I added cinnamon, brown sugar, and cocoa powder. I also substituted brown sugar for half the white sugar. With the changes I made, this recipe gets five stars. My in laws are very impressed with it. As am I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I really liked the recipe bc it is easy and you do not need to cream the butter. The cake is quite plain and was done in 30 minutes. Even then it was a little dry. I think that it needs fruit or cinnamon or a little something to bump it up. Next time I might add a layer of jam or some fresh fruit. Very good though if you are into simple yumminess- which I am sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Super simple and excellent recipe. The only adjustment I made was substituting 1 cup of almond flour because I had it on hand. I was surprised at how moist it was. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Simple and great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Love this! So easy to make and so tasty. I added a tsp or so of cinnamon to the batter and then another half tsp to the reserved butter crumbs, and this was just perfect. Lovely texture and great flavor! I didn't have to bake quite as long, only about 30 minutes, so it's probably a good idea to check on this early, depending on your oven. Great way to use up buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Great tasting, easy, quick to make.. Added cinnamon and brown sugar to the topping. Grand kids loved it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe was awesome! Nice and moist and like others have said, even better the next day! I brought some in for my co-workers and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I really enjoyed this cake. I needed to use up some buttermilk and this turned out to be a nice, moist cake. Like others say in other reviews, this is a great base recipe that leaves room for creativity. I made it as is for a test run, but I'll try it again with some adjustments later for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Great taste, mild and moist. I added about 2 tsp. of ground cinnamon to the topping and loved it. I hear it's good the second day.... although I'm not sure it will last that long in my house! I'm thinking this is a keeper... as is, or as a base to add other ingredients to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States