Simple Buttermilk Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is easy to make and produces my favorite type of cake, light and not too sweet. I was unimpressed with the crumb topping so in the future I will not reserve anything and make my own streusel. Thanks, Amy.....4/6/13 edit. I just read how harsh my comment sounded about the topping, not what I intended at all. It is an easy change and in no way detracts from the cake itself. I WAS impressed by how moist and flavorful this cake is the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I used this recipe as a base then added my own flair to it. I replaced the butter with a honey butter recipe using lavender honey, which made this coffee cake to DIE for! Not to mention makes the crumb topping even more delicious. Great recipe overall and will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Just as described by Amy, this coffee cake is simple and wonderful. The recipe leaves room for individualization by each cook. I will try spices next time, cinnamon and nutmeg, and perhaps add fresh fruit as the season progresses. Very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I really liked the recipe bc it is easy and you do not need to cream the butter. The cake is quite plain and was done in 30 minutes. Even then it was a little dry. I think that it needs fruit or cinnamon or a little something to bump it up. Next time I might add a layer of jam or some fresh fruit. Very good though if you are into simple yumminess- which I am sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Super simple and excellent recipe. The only adjustment I made was substituting 1 cup of almond flour because I had it on hand. I was surprised at how moist it was. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Simple and great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Love this! So easy to make and so tasty. I added a tsp or so of cinnamon to the batter and then another half tsp to the reserved butter crumbs, and this was just perfect. Lovely texture and great flavor! I didn't have to bake quite as long, only about 30 minutes, so it's probably a good idea to check on this early, depending on your oven. Great way to use up buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Great tasting, easy, quick to make.. Added cinnamon and brown sugar to the topping. Grand kids loved it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe was awesome! Nice and moist and like others have said, even better the next day! I brought some in for my co-workers and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I really enjoyed this cake. I needed to use up some buttermilk and this turned out to be a nice, moist cake. Like others say in other reviews, this is a great base recipe that leaves room for creativity. I made it as is for a test run, but I'll try it again with some adjustments later for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States