Simple Buttermilk Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is easy to make and produces my favorite type of cake, light and not too sweet. I was unimpressed with the crumb topping so in the future I will not reserve anything and make my own streusel. Thanks, Amy.....4/6/13 edit. I just read how harsh my comment sounded about the topping, not what I intended at all. It is an easy change and in no way detracts from the cake itself. I WAS impressed by how moist and flavorful this cake is the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I used this recipe as a base then added my own flair to it. I replaced the butter with a honey butter recipe using lavender honey, which made this coffee cake to DIE for! Not to mention makes the crumb topping even more delicious. Great recipe overall and will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Just as described by Amy, this coffee cake is simple and wonderful. The recipe leaves room for individualization by each cook. I will try spices next time, cinnamon and nutmeg, and perhaps add fresh fruit as the season progresses. Very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great coffee cake. I made this this morning because my in laws came over for coffee. For the topping, I added cinnamon, brown sugar, and cocoa powder. I also substituted brown sugar for half the white sugar. With the changes I made, this recipe gets five stars. My in laws are very impressed with it. As am I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Love this! So easy to make and so tasty. I added a tsp or so of cinnamon to the batter and then another half tsp to the reserved butter crumbs, and this was just perfect. Lovely texture and great flavor! I didn't have to bake quite as long, only about 30 minutes, so it's probably a good idea to check on this early, depending on your oven. Great way to use up buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I tried it but I replaced 1/4 cup of flour with 3/4 cup of ground almonds and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract.I did not put the crumble on top ,when it was still warm from the oven I brushed the top with 2 tablespoons of honey as a glaze. It was a hit with my family and friends and goes down a treat with a cup of coffee or tea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Hussain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
this is a yummy cake. I added Victorian Epicure apple pie spice and it tastes like apple pie. going to try the ginger bread season next time. thus would taste good served with whip cream. you could also add chocolate chips or any variety of baking chips to it. I think the possibilities are endless with this recipe. I think I'm even going to try substituting the 1/4 cup flour for Cocoa next time. So many ideas to try with this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martensville, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warman, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Yummy! Super easy and came out great. I did add my own brown sugar crumb topping. Family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelique76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
As is, this cake tastes simply wonderful without any fru fru. Sometimes we want a simple cake without frosting or a million spices/ingredients. I don't care for "crumb topping" so I just combined it all and it was just fine. I highly suggest reading the review by Lorraine Hussain, written on September 16, 2014. The addition of almond flour/meal and almond extract is in the perfect proportions and tastes so comforting. In addition to Lorraine's suggestions, I sprinkled sliced almonds over the top before baking-delish! This is a great basic recipe; easily tweaked to get the flavor you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This cake was ok but I have to admit being disappointed in it. Its simple enough to make for sure but theres no flavor to it - and thats with me adding cinnamon to the batter and topping. And it cooked alot faster than the 35 minutes as well. After roughly 20 minutes I could already smell it and I knew it was close to being done. I won't be throwing it out - it will get eaten - but I highly doubt I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States