Simple Broiled Grapefruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
With added butter, it would be an easy 5 stars! You can also add butter and whatever spices you like to the brown sugar and pop it in the microwave for a minute. Quick and so good on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was divine. I found it in the Jewish Sicilian Cookbook by Pamela Hensley Vincent. Add 2 pats of butter and then sprinkle on the brown sugar! MMMMmmmmmm! My kids even went crazy for it. It is a great breakfast or dessert treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by travelfoodfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made this last night, but I was out of brown sugar so I used regular white sugar, which it didn't turn out like I thought it would. So I went to the store and bought more grapefruits and brown sugar. This time I put brown sugar, cinnamon and a tiny splash of vanilla. Turned out so much better! I think this recipe is super simple so we can add our own touches to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Excellent. I like small pats of butter before the brown sugar and cinnamon. I also separate the segments with a grapefruit knife first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizzip51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Custar, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Sweet. Tart. Mmmmm Mmmmm that's delicious! This really mellowed out a tart grapefruit and while still having lots of eye opening flavor it was also sweet. I used a Texas red grapefruit and topped it with a maraschino cherry. Very good and very easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
To Hilarybear - As a kid, my Mum made this for us. My Dad loved grapefruit. She used to slice the segments and then all around the outside first and then cook it. Made it easier to eat. They also make grapefruit spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I love this simple recipe. I used brown sugar splenda and added a dash of pumpkin spice. If you don't have the pumpkin spice, add cinnamon or nutmeg. Yes, this recipe can be messy but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This recipe seemed to make the grapefruit quite bitter; in my family of eight, there wasn't a single fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Simple and delicious! I usually just eat these things cold with a bit of Splenda, but this was really nice change. I cut the grapefruit in half, cut it into sections and loosed it a bit. I added a bit of Land O Lakes light butter to the brown sugar along with some cinnamong and nutmeg. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This tasted really good, but we found it very difficult and messy to eat. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States