Simple Broiled Grapefruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I've made this since 7th grade. Our home economics teacher taught us, but it also had butter underneath the brown sugar.... Try that... it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Blevens McKee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This took me back to my childhood. My mom would make this on special mornings and I thought it was wonderful. Still do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This isn't going to be a helpful review at all. maybe I didn't put enough sugar on it or should have tried it with butter. But I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This tasted really good, but we found it very difficult and messy to eat. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Simple and delicious! I usually just eat these things cold with a bit of Splenda, but this was really nice change. I cut the grapefruit in half, cut it into sections and loosed it a bit. I added a bit of Land O Lakes light butter to the brown sugar along with some cinnamong and nutmeg. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This recipe seemed to make the grapefruit quite bitter; in my family of eight, there wasn't a single fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I love this simple recipe. I used brown sugar splenda and added a dash of pumpkin spice. If you don't have the pumpkin spice, add cinnamon or nutmeg. Yes, this recipe can be messy but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
To Hilarybear - As a kid, my Mum made this for us. My Dad loved grapefruit. She used to slice the segments and then all around the outside first and then cook it. Made it easier to eat. They also make grapefruit spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Sweet. Tart. Mmmmm Mmmmm that's delicious! This really mellowed out a tart grapefruit and while still having lots of eye opening flavor it was also sweet. I used a Texas red grapefruit and topped it with a maraschino cherry. Very good and very easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Excellent. I like small pats of butter before the brown sugar and cinnamon. I also separate the segments with a grapefruit knife first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizzip51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Custar, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States