Simple Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This ended up being awesome, I served it with warm dinner rolls. I looked around at the other reviews and this is what I did: I used a full can of Beef Broth, just 1 can of Cream of Mushroom soup, 2 full jars of sliced mushrooms (the little glass ones), I added a generous sprinkle of Paprika, A Tablespoon of Worshechire, Half of a small white onion finely chopped, 1 Beef Boullion Cube, I used only 1/2 a cup of Sour Cream, I dropped the garlic powder from a Tablespoon to only a Teaspoon - It needed to simmer about 20 minutes - not ten minutes and then put it over broad egg noodles, It was SOOOOO good. I had to tweak the recipe a lot to get the flavor I wanted though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pizzafreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is good, but wanted to pass along this hint: try adding a package of DRY HIDDEN VALLEY RANCH dressing mix to it... oh my gosh - it is SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This is a great starter recipe. I changed it up a bit, I added fresh garlic , onion, mushrooms, and garlic salt to the ground beef while frying it. Then I added 1 can of beef broth, 1 can of cream of mushroom and one beef boulion cube. I served it over egg noodles with warm rolls and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This recipe was really quick and easy to make, but tasted great...after reading other's suggestions, and catering to my family's taste, these are the modifications I made: - chop up and onion and throw it in with the beef while it's cooking (next time I will use two for more onion) - after draining beef, double the mushroom soup, add two cans of slice mushrooms, and add one soup can of milk - i added about a cup of sour cream, don't worry if people don't like it, my sister hates it, and mixed in with the other ingredients, it tasted great The extra soup and milk really made a nice sauce so when I served it over egg noodles, everything was coated perfectly. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
YUMMY! I altered the recipe a bit after looking at the other reviews. Cook the ground beef and drain off the fat. To the beef, add 1 cup of water, 2 beef boullion cubes, 1 Tbsp. dried minced onion, 1 Tbsp. Worstershire sauce, 1 tsp. crushd garlic, and a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup. Simmer for 10-20 minutes while cooking the pasta. Add 1/2 cup of sour cream to the beef and serve it over the cooked pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Been making this for years it is quick & easy what I do different is use a can of cr. of Mushroom & cream of celery, use garlic salt, onion and 2 tablespoons of cooking sherry and a cup or so of sour cream. I think the sherry gives it that something some are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
If you saute fresh mushrooms, onion, and garlic (skip the garlic powder) to add, and add some Worcestershire sauce this comes out so much better for not much more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I grew up on this recipe and learned it from my mom. Being from the south, we also add onion, bell pepper, celery, (or frozen "Season Blend") with a little "Slap ya Mama Cajun Seasoning". We ate it on cooked rice or toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kinder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This dish is tasty, simple, and easy, but I wouldn't say it's a recipe for authentic beef stroganoff. This is more like a Hamburger Helper Beef Stroganoff in taste, appearance, and texture. So if that's what you're looking for, try this recipe, but if you're looking for the real thing, keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe turned out excellent... after I made some changes (as the other reviewers suggested). I added an onion and 1 clove minced garlic to the burger while browning. Then I drained and added 1 "teaspoon" garlic powder and 1 tablespoon black pepper. I added 2 cans cream of mushroom soup and 1 cup water with a beef bouillon dissolved in it. I added 1 cup of sour cream and brought to a boil. I then added 1 tablespoon Worcestershire stirred then turned down and simmered for about 20 minutes while I prepared the egg noodles. When the noodles were done I drained and added the beef mixture in with the noodles. I mixed thoroughly and simmered for about 10 more minutes.(The beef mixture seemed soupy at first until you add it to the noodles.) Be prepared to be impressed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States