Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Loved this recipe! It was simple! I made the ribs in my crockpot. I added a couple of extra cloves of garlic cause that's what we like. The juice from the ribs made an outstanding gravy for potatoes! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paron, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
These were easy to make. We wanted something w/o barbeque sauce on them, and this fit the bill. Changed the method of preparation a bit by doubling the amount of pepper & flour with the same amount of salt and putting it into a plastic bag and coating the pieces of short ribs inside the plastic bag before cooking the ribs. Didn't use the beer. After deglazing the pan with water & 2 beef bouillon cubes (we were out of beef stock), everything was put into a roasting pan. Baked the ribs in the oven with the cover on at 325 for almost 2 hours. ( Watch so that the liquid doesn't run dry in the roaster ). They turned out very tender and tasty. May use a crock pot the next time these are made as others have suggested. Thank You for posting. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is a good basic recipe that's not hard to make. The short ribs came out really tender. I didn't do it, but you probably could make a good gravy from the broth to serve on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Incredible taste. The recipe only calls for 1 pound of ribs which is a very small amount considering most of the weight is in the bones. I used 4 pounds. It took approx. 45 minutes to dredge and brown the ribs. I didn't increase the amount of the liquid though. The amount given in the recipe worked fine for the 4 pounds of meat. I used my Lodge cast iron dutch oven which has a heavy lid and doesn't allow much liquid to cook out. It worked wonderful for the ribs. After about two hours the meat was falling off the bone. The flavor was great. We ate it with a nice crusty bread and sopped up the juice. Divine !!! It was nice to find a rib recipe that doesn't rely on a sweet barbecue sauce. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Used a combination of chicken broth (odd I know, but had no beef brother) and HP Sauce. They came out tender and flavorful, and a breeze to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe! I followed it exactly and served them over egg noodles. Full of flavor and really easy to make. This one will be handed down for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
We've tried dozens of short rib recipes this one is easy and delish if you ever watch cooking shows the chefs always say keep it fresh and simple this reciepe fits the bill! and my husband always does the cooking bonus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
this was an amazing recipe! the only changes I made were to, after browning meat, add to crock pot and cook on high for five hours (after which, the meat literally fell off the bones! yum!) and I quadrupled the recipe amount... and had just enough for 4 people! I used some of the liquid to make a great gravy and the remaining liquid i used the next day for a french onion soup. Just add croutons and some swiss and provolone and broil till browned. All in all, a great tasting and No-waste meal, just be sure to adjust for how many people will be eating, and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
delicious...but sauce/gravy was thin...so i had to thicken it with quite a bit of flour and reduce it...otherwise i would have given it 5 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
good stuff, I even used light beer. Next time I would be a little heavier handed on the salt and pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States