Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
WOWIE! Very simple and super delicious! This really only DID take 15 minutes of prep time. My picky kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Wow, I am shocked at all the good reviews. Even the basic mechanics of the recipe didn't work for me. I ran out of flour to dredge the meat, because 2 Tbsp per pound is not enough unless one is lightly dusting with flour rather than dredging. I had to do two batches of browning because all the ribs did not fit in the (large) pot I was using. After the first batch, I had to WASH the pot because it was full of burned bits. I did the second batch on medium and not medium-high, and did not have this problem. And the results? Rather bland, too fatty, nothing that even came close to justifying the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was skeptical but this was super! Next time, will try in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Greasy and super bland. Very one-note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I prefer pork ribs, so we used those instead, but the sauce is sooo amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was my first time making short ribs. I do not like cooking, as I call it, "big beef" because it never comes out tender. Not this recipe! My short ribs were falling off the bone and so tender. I used guinnise beer extra stout. I will use a litte less because of the extra stout. But my husband said leave it the way it is. We just ate the last today for lunch and we were smacking, mm mm good! this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Loved this recipe, the meat practically fell off of the bone!!!! I will definitely make this again, although next time I will add potatoes and carrots and make a whole meal of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Didn't change a thing. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I Just made this recipe tonight, I used 3lbs of boneless beef ribs, so I doubled the beer and beef stock. I should have made a gravy like one review suggested. Also I put it in the crock pot for 3 hours and it took 1 more to really see the meat fall apart. It was delicious and I would recommend to anyone who loves tender ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These were so good, they just melt in your mouth. I've only ever made short ribs in a slow cooker so I was worried they wouldn't be as tender but they were perfect. I doubled the amount of ribs and there was still plenty of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States