Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Loved this recipe, the meat practically fell off of the bone!!!! I will definitely make this again, although next time I will add potatoes and carrots and make a whole meal of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Didn't change a thing. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I Just made this recipe tonight, I used 3lbs of boneless beef ribs, so I doubled the beer and beef stock. I should have made a gravy like one review suggested. Also I put it in the crock pot for 3 hours and it took 1 more to really see the meat fall apart. It was delicious and I would recommend to anyone who loves tender ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These were so good, they just melt in your mouth. I've only ever made short ribs in a slow cooker so I was worried they wouldn't be as tender but they were perfect. I doubled the amount of ribs and there was still plenty of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I've made these a few times and my family loves them! I've slightly added to it by drizzling the ribs with BBQ sauce after they have finished cooking and then broiling them on low for about 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Easy, easy, easy! My family loved it! Only because I'm not a beer drinker (lol) I might go with a less full flavored beer. But that's only because of MY taste buds like mild. But that wouldn't prevent me from giving this a 5 Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I had such high hopes for this recipe after reading other reviews, but ended up so disappointed. I first looked at the short ribs at our local grocery store and thought they looked fatty, so instead I bought them at the most reputable meat store in town. They still looked fatty, but having never cooked them before, I figured that must be normal and somehow magically in the cooking process the fat would melt away. I followed the recipe to a T (except made more than the 1 pound called for, which didn't seem like nearly enough for 4 people). The meat had good flavor and fell away from the bone but, as I suspected, it had sooo much fat and even areas of gristle mixed in. Even my teenage son who eats just about anything thought they were too fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The beef was very tender and the gravy very nice but I was expecting a little more favor. Its great for a base and I will use again but might try experimenting a little with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made this for my husband and it was FANTASTIC! The meat was literally falling off the bone and had lots of flavor. The sauce left in the pan was delicious and we put it on our garlic mashed potatoes we had on the side. The stout gave it a really nice flavor (and I don't like beer!). This really was very easy to make and we were thrilled with the results--will definitely make again. Oh, and as someone else mentioned, you can use more than a pound of short ribs with the same amount of everything else (maybe a tad more salt, pepper, and flour) and it works great. I used nearly 4 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very easy. I placed it all in a crock pot and cooked on low for 8 hours. Very tender and the gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxmomx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States